Natural Sciences

Cultural events

The 10th annual L'Oreal-UNESCO Awards For Women in Science. ©UNESCO 2008
WARNING! if you get could not connect to server, update the Flash® plugin –consult FAQ.5 for help
The 10th annual L'Oreal-UNESCO Awards For Women in Science

Share this content:
Language(s): Multilingual

Summary/Historical Context

Related material that you
may also like:
Scientific partnership

Five distinguished women researchers in the life sciences were named on October 5th 2007 as recipients of the 10th annual L'OREAL-UNESCO Awards For Women in Science.

The 2008 Award Laureates in life sciences are:

Africa & the Arab States: Professor Lihadh Al-Gazali, United Arab Emirates
Asia-Pacific: Assistant Professor V. NarryKim, Republic of Korea
Europe: Professor Ada Yonaht, Israel
Latin America: Professor Ana Belen Elgoyhen, Argentina
North America: Professor Elizabeth Blackburn, USA
The international Life Science Awards Jury, which was presided by Professor Gunter Blobel, Nobel Prize in Medicine 1999, is made up of 18 eminent members of the scientific community. Professor Christian de Duve, Nobel Prize in Medicine 1974, is the Founding President of the Awards.

Multilingual: English/French/Spanish

Place/Country: UNESCO HQ
Type: Interview
Credits: Lihadh Al-Gazali, interviewee ; V. NarryKim, interviewee ; Ada Yonaht, interviewee ; Elizabeth Blackburn, interviewee ; Gunter Blobel, interviewee ; Christian de Duve, interviewee ; Irina Bokova, interviewee.
UNESCO TV, producer.
Published in:

Request embed code for your website

Find Content
ONLY IN (optional):
Audio recordings
Search by country name