Natural Sciences

Cultural events

L'Oréal-UNESCO Awards for Women in Science 2019. ©L'Oreal Foundation 2019
L'Oréal-UNESCO Awards for Women in Science 2019

Share this content:
Language: English
Related material that you
may also like:
Science and society Opens in new window
Women in science
Women Scientists Opens in new window
Awards Opens in new window

The L’Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science Awards are presented every year to five women, one from each world region, in recognition of their scientific accomplishments. Each scientist has had a unique career path combining exceptional talent, a deep commitment to her profession and remarkable courage in a field still largely dominated by men.

The scientific fields considered for the awards alternate every other year between life sciences and material sciences. In 2019, to mark the 21st edition of the L’Oréal-UNESCO international awards for women in science, the L'Oréal Foundation and UNESCO decided to reinforce their efforts to empower women in science by extending the International Awards dedicated to material science, which had focused on chemistry and physics until then, to two more research areas: mathematics and computer science.

This material cannot be posted online in full. It is available for consultation in our Reading Room or, when indicated, via Video on Demand (VOD)

Place/region: UNESCO HQ, Latin America, North America, North Africa, Asia and the Pacific, Europe
Type: Unedited
Extract: 54 min. Total length:
Authors and personalities: Najat Aoun Saliba, participant ; Maki Kawai, participant ; Karen Hallberg, participant ; Ingrid Daubechies, participant ; Claire Voisin, participant.
Production: L'Oreal, producer. UNESCO, sponsor.
Published in:
Rights: CC-By-SA

Find Content
(OPTIONAL) Only in:
Audio recordings
Search by name of country or region