Culture and development

UNESCO Asia-Pacific Awards for Cultural Heritage Conservation
Loading the player...
WARNING! Chrome users: if you get "Server not found", consult FAQ.5 for solutions
Share this content:

Language(s): English

Summary/Historical Context

Related material that you
may also like:
Cultural heritage preservation
Community participation

These awards recognize the achievement of the private sector and public-private initiatives in successfully conserving or restoring structures, places and properties of heritage value in Asia and the Pacific. Since the Awards were established in 2000, UNESCO has received 426 entries from 24 countries.

A total of 140 projects have received Awards for high achievement in conservation, while 5 projects have received the Jury Commendation for Innovation. Projects involving heritage properties more than fifty years old which were completed within the last ten years are eligible for consideration. Houses, commercial and institutional buildings, historic towns and villages, archaeological heritage sites and cultural landscapes, for example, are all suitable for entry.

The project must be the result of private sector initiative or public-private partnership.

on this subject: UNESCO Asia-Pacific Awards for Cultural Heritage Conservation (

Place/country: Thailand,
Type: Documentary
Duration: 3 minutes
Credits: UNESCO Bangkok (publisher), Fundaçao Macau (producer),
Published in: 2011

Top of the page


Find multimedia content
ONLY IN (optional):
Audio recordings
Search by country name