UNESCO General Conference

Basic information | Elections | Presidents | Member States and Associate Members | Statistics | Secretariat
  About the GC
  Basic Texts
  Forthcoming Session
  Previous Sessions
  Practical Information
Elections - Subsidiary Bodies

International Coordinating Council of the Man and the Biosphere Programme (MAB) 


By Resolution 16 C/Res. 2.313, adopted at its 16th session in 1970, the General Conference decided to launch a long-term intergovernmental and interdisciplinary programme on “Man and the Biosphere”.
Statutes amended by the General Conference at its 19th (19C/Res. 2.152) (1976), 20th  (20 C/Res. 36.1) (1978) 23rd (1985), 25th (1989) and 28th (28 C/Res. 22)  (1995) sessions.

Mission of the Programme

To develop the basis, within the natural and the social sciences, for the sustainable use and conservation of biological diversity, and for the improvement of the relationship between people and their environment globally.
The MAB Programme encourages interdisciplinary research, demonstration and training in natural resource management. MAB contributes to better understanding of the environment, including global change and greater involvement of science and scientists in policy development concerning the wise use of biological diversity.

Mandate of the Council To guide and supervise the Programme; to review the progress made in its implementation; to recommend research projects and to assess priorities among them; to coordinate the international cooperation of Member States participating in the Programme; to facilitate the development of national projects; to take all appropriate - practical and scientific - measures necessary for a successful implementation of the Programme.
Composition The Council consists of 34 Member States. Their 4-year term of office extends from the end of the ordinary session of the General Conference during which they are elected until the end of its second subsequent ordinary session.
Member States elected at the 31st session until the end of the 33rd session: Austria, Benin, Colombia, Dominican Republic, Hungary,Indonesia, Japan, Malawi, Morocco, Norway, Oman, South Africa, Spain, Switzerland, Tunisia.
Other members of the Council, elected at the 30th session and whose term of office expires at the end of the 32nd session of the General Conference: Angola, Argentina, Azerbaijan, Cameroon, China, Costa Rica, Cuba, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, India, Madagascar, Malaysia, Mexico, Nigeria, Portugal, Qatar, Slovakia, Thailand.
Geographical distribution among electoral groups
(as amended by 28C/Res.22, in 1995)








elected for 2002-2003 during the meeting held in March 2002


Chairperson: Mr Driss Fassi (Morocco)
Mr Olabiyi J. Yaï  (Benin)
Mr Jan Kvet  (Czech Republic)
Mr Maximo Aquino  (Dominican Republic, elected for 2002)
Mr Alfredo Reca  (Argentina, elected for 2003)
Mr Robert Barbault  (France)
Mr Kunio Iwatsuki  (Japan)
The MAB Bureau meets between Council sessions.

Meetings foreseen during the biennium

The Council meets once every two years. 
It met on 18 to 22 March 2002.

Sector/Division responsible Natural Sciences Sector
Division of Ecological Sciences
URL of the site http://www.unesco.org/mab/

Current membership of the MAB Council, by electoral group
Membership of the Council since its establishment
- - - - - - - - - - - -
© 2001-2003 - UNESCO - Contact