UNESCO General Conference

Basic information | Elections | Presidents | Member States and Associate Members | Statistics | Secretariat
  About the GC
  Basic Texts
  Forthcoming Session
  Previous Sessions
  Practical Information
Elections - Subsidiary Bodies

Intergovernmental Council of the International Hydrological Programme (IHP) 

Origin On the recommendation of the international conference on the results of the International Hydrological Decade, the General Conference decided to launch the International Hydrological Programme, by Resolution 18 C/Res.2.232 adopted at its 18th session in 1974.
Statutes amended by the General Conference at its 20th  (1978) 21st (1980), 23rd (1985), 27th (1993) and 28th (1995) sessions.
Mission of the Programme Intergovernmental programme of international co-operation in the field of hydrology, its main objectives are: to provide a scientific framework for general development of hydrological activities; to improve the study of the hydrological cycle and the scientific methodology for the assessment of water resources; to assist Member States in the organization and development of their national hydrologic activities.  The aim of IHP is also to improve the scientific and technological basis on which to build sound managing methods for water resources, respectful of the environment.
Mandate of the Council To guide, to define priorities and to supervise the implementation of the Programme. To study proposals concerning developments and modifications of the Programme and also to plan for its implementation; to recommend scientific projects and to assess priorities among such projects; to co-ordinate international co-operation among Member States in the framework of the Programme; to assist in the development of regional and national projects; to take any practical or scientific measures required for the successful implementation of the Programme.
Composition The Council consists of 36 Member States. Their 4-year term of office extends from the end of the ordinary session of the General Conference during which they are elected until the end of its second subsequent ordinary session.
Member States elected at the 31st session until the end of the 33rd session: Cuba, Ethiopia, Iran (Islamic Republic of),Italy,Japan, 
Jordan, Malawi, Panama, Republic of Korea, Romania, Saudi Arabia, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland.
Other members of the Council, elected at the 30th session and whose term of office expires at the end of the 32nd session of the General Conference: Angola, Argentina, Azerbaijan, Cameroon, Canada, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Egypt, El Salvador, France, Germany, Hungary, India, Libyan Arab Jamahiriya, Malaysia, Netherlands, Nigeria, South Africa, Tunisia, Ukraine, Yemen.
Geographical distribution among electoral groups
(as amended by 28 C/Res.22, in 1995)







elected for 2002-2004 during the meeting held in June 2002

Chairperson: Mr V. Pochat (Argentina)
Mr G. Hollo (Hungary)
Mr R. Ardakanian (Islamic Rep of Iran)
r J.A. Hanidu (Nigeria)
Mr A. Altokhais (Saudi Arabia)
Mr R. Feddes (The Netherlands) (past Chairperson, ex officio member)

Meetings foreseen
during the biennium 
The Council meets once every two years in plenary session.
32nd session of the Bureau: 4-5 March 2002
33rd (extraordinary) session of the Bureau: 16 June 2002
15th session of the Intergovernmental Council: 17-22 June 2002

34th session of the Bureau: 22 June 2002.
Sector/Division responsible Natural Sciences Sector
URL of the site http://www.unesco.org/water/ihp

Current membership of the IHP Council, by electoral group
Membership of the Council since its establishment- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
© 2001-2003 - UNESCO - Contact