UNESCO General Conference

Basic information | Elections | Presidents | Member States and Associate Members | Statistics | Secretariat
  About the GC
  Basic Texts
  Forthcoming Session
  Previous Sessions
  Practical Information
Elections - Subsidiary Bodies

Intergovernmental Council of the Management of Social Transformations Programme (MOST) 
Origin At its 27th session, in 1993, the General Conference decided the establishment of an international social science programme entitled “Management of Social Transformations” (MOST), and adopted the resolution 27 C/5.2.
Statutes amended by the General Conference at its 28th (1995) session.
Mission of the Programme MOST is a UNESCO Programme that promotes international, comparative and policy-relevant research on contemporary social transformations and issues of global importance. It aims to further understand social transformations, establish sustainable links between social science researchers and decision-makers, strengthen scientific, professional and institutional capacities, particularly in developing countries, encourage the design of research-anchored policy.

The MOST Programme is directed by an Intergovernmental Council and an independent Scientific Steering Committee.
Mandate of the Council To guide and supervise the planning and implementation of the MOST Programme; to consider proposals on the development and adaptation of the MOST Programme; to define the broad substantive areas of the MOST Programme and to recommend the broad lines of action that the Programme could take; to review and assess the activities and achievements of the MOST Programme as well as to define the basic areas requiring increased international co-operation, on the basis, inter alia, of the report submitted by the Scientific Steering Committee that the Council may consult in exercising its functions.
Composition The Council consists of 35 Member States. Their 4-year term of office extends from the end of the ordinary session of the General Conference during which they are elected until the end of its second subsequent ordinary session.

Member States elected at the 31st session until the end of the 33rd session: Albania, Bangladesh, Barbados, Benin, Haiti, Indonesia, 
Japan, Kuwait, Malaysia, Netherlands, Norway, Paraguay, Romania, Sudan, Switzerland, Togo, Zimbabwe.

Other members of the Council, elected at the 30th session and whose term of office expires at the end of the 32nd session of the General Conference: Belgium, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina,
Costa Rica, Ecuador, Finland, Gabon, Ghana, Nigeria, New Zealand, Pakistan, Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Syrian Arab Republic, Thailand, Turkey, Uganda.
Geographical distribution among electoral groups
(as amended by 28 C/Res. 22 in 1995)







Bureau Bureau elected at the 5th session (March 2001)
Chairperson: Mr Marek Ziólkowski (Poland) Vice-chairpersons: 
Mrs Lenelis Kruse-Graumann (Germany)
Mrs Elena Zamfir (Romania)
Mr Juan Luis Martin-Chavez (Cuba)
Mrs Khojasteh Arefnia (Islamic Republic of Iran)
Mr D. Olu Ajakaiye (Nigeria)
Mr Amin Esber (Syrian Arab Republic)
Rapporteur: Mr Charly Gabriel Mbock (Cameroon)
Scientific Steering Committee The autonomous Committee is an independent group of 9 social scientists of international standing, which decides on the scientific questions, project evaluation, ethical and professional concerns and thematic development. Its members are appointed by the Director-General for a 3-year term of office.
Meetings foreseen during the biennium

The Council meets once every two years in plenary session. (The forthcoming session will take place in 2003).
The Scientific Steering Committee meets once a year. A session was held on 25-26 April 2002, the next session will be held in 2003.

Sector/Division responsible Social and Human Sciences Sector
Division of Social Science Research and Policy
URL of the site http://www.unesco.org/most/igc.htm

Current membership of the MOST Council, by electoral group
Membership of the Council since its establishment
- -
© 2001-2003 - UNESCO - Contact