UNESCO General Conference

Basic information | Elections | Presidents | Member States and Associate Members | Statistics | Secretariat
  About the GC
  Basic Texts
  Forthcoming Session
  Previous Sessions
  Practical Information
Elections - Subsidiary Bodies

Intergovernmental Council of the International Programme for the Development of Communication (IPDC) 

Origin At its 21st session, in 1980, the General Conference decided to establish an International Programme for the Development of Communication
(21 C/Res. 4/21).
Mission of the Programme To assist developing countries in the elaboration and implementation of their information and communication development plans, as well as in the identification of needs and priority areas; to promote in developing countries, in accordance with their communication policies and development plans, the creation or extension of infrastructures for the different communications sectors, in order, in particular, to increase the contribution of the means of communication to endogenous economic, social and cultural development; to proceed with the analysis of technical and financial needs and resources in the fields of information and communication; to ensure reciprocal consultation and better co-ordination among the parties interested in the development of communication and in various related programmes of co-operation; to encourage contributions to these projects from all possible financing sources; to prepare studies based on experience gained in international co-operation in the field of information and communication development, particularly between developing and developed countries.
Mandate of the Council To guide the planning and implementation of the International Programme; to consider proposals concerning the development and adaptation of the IPDC; to recommend priorities among the various activities; to review and assess achievements and to define the basic areas requiring increased international co-operation; to review ways and means whereby Member States might participate more effectively in the IPDC; to devise an appropriate system of financing for the Programme; to seek the necessary resources for its implementation.

The Council consists of 39 Member States. Their 4-year term of office extends from the end of the ordinary session of the General Conference during which they are elected until the end of its second subsequent ordinary session.

Member States elected at the 31st session until the end of the 33rd session: Bangladesh, Benin, Bolivia, Fiji, Haiti, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Mongolia, Panama, Paraguay, Portugal, Qatar, Republic of Korea, Russian Federation, Sri Lanka, Uzbekistan, Yemen, Zimbabwe.

Other members of the Council, elected at the 30th session and whose term of office expires at the end of the 32nd session of the General Conference: Albania, Algeria, Croatia, Cuba, Denmark,
Finland, France, Gabon, Germany, Ghana, Jordan, Malawi, Mexico, Mozambique, Netherlands, Nigeria, Romania, Senegal, Thailand, Togo, Uruguay.

Geographical distribution among electoral groups
(as amended by 28 C/Res. 22 in 1995)







elected during the meeting held in April 2002
Chairperson : Mr Torben Krogh (Denmark)
3 Vice-chairpersons: Malaysia, Uruguay, Yemen
Rapporteur : Mr Nacer Mehal (Algeria) 
3 other members : Luxembourg, Malawi, Russian Federation
Meetings foreseen during the biennium Ordinary session: once a year
45th meeting of the Bureau: Paris, 11-13 December 2002
22nd session of the Council: Paris, 10-12 April 2002

23rd session of the Council: Paris, 26-28 March 2003
Sector/Division responsible Communication and Information Sector
Secretariat of the IPDC
URL of the site http://www.unesco.org/webworld/index.shtml

Current membership of the IPDC Council, by electoral group
Membership of the Council since its establishment

© 2001-2003 - UNESCO - Contact