Home Page

Indian Ocean




The Cuban archipelago consists of 4,159 small islands in addition to the main island and the Isla de la Juventud. It is located in the Greater Antilles, 150 km south of Key West Florida, at 21 30' North and 80 00' West, see map below. It is elongated in an east to west direction along a distance of 1,200 km and has a total land area of 110,860 sq km. The capital is Havana. The population is 11,263,469 (Jul '03 estimate) and the official language is Spanish.

Copyright 2003 Lonely Planet Publications. All rights reserved. Used with permission. www.lonelyplanet.com


To get involved, contact :


Daniel Bulgado Benavides
Instituto Preuniversitano Vocacional de Ciencias Exactas
'Ernesto Gueuara'
Carretera a Camajuani Km 31/2
Santa Clara
Villa Clara
T +537 422 19434
E cheguevara@vcl.jovenclub.cu


| Home Page |
About |Caribbean | Indian Ocean | Pacific | Young Islanders | Global Forum