Community of Portuguese-Speaking Countries- Biennial Meeting


The Community of Portuguese-Speaking Countries - CPLP constitutes a multilateral forum for strengthening mutual friendship among its members: Angola, Brazil, Cape Verde, Guinea Bissau, Mozambique, Portugal, Sao Tome and Principe and East Timor.

The CPLP founded on June 17th 1996 has a legal status and enjoys financial autonomy pursuing the following general purposes:

-A political and diplomatic concert among its member states including the reinforcement of their presence on the international stage;
-To promote cooperation and share values in all the fields including education, health, science, technology, defence, agriculture, public administration, communications, justice, public security, culture,intercultural competences, sports and media;
- Materializing of projects aiming at dissemination of the Portuguese language and intercultural dialogue..

Niveau d’intervention géographique

  • International
  • Régional


  • Promouvoir une connaissance mutuelle de la diversité culturelle, ethnique, linguistique, religieuse
  • Construire un cadre de valeurs communes
  • Renforcer l'éducation de qualité et le développement de compétences interculturelles
  • Favoriser le dialogue au service du développement durable

Pays bénéficiaire (s) / Groupes cibles

  • The 8 portuguese-speaking countries of the community

Nom de l’organisation / Entité responsable principale

Planning, Strategy, Assessment and International Affairs Bureau of the Ministry of Culture of Portugal

18/06/2010 - 18/06/2010