Composition and meetings of 9.COM Bureau


9.COM Bureau members

Chairperson: H. E. Mr José Manuel Rodríguez Cuadros (Peru)
Vice-Chairs: Belgium, Latvia, Kyrgyzstan, Namibia and Egypt
Rapporteur: Ms Anita Vaivade (Latvia)

9.COM 1.BUR - Electronic consultation (April 2014)

The Intergovernmental Committee, by its Decision 8.COM 5.b, adopted the provisional report on its activities between June 2012 and June 2014 and ‘delegated to its Bureau the authority to approve the final report to be updated before the next session of the General Assembly’ which will take place from 2 to 5 June 2014. Consequently, as provided in Rule 12.3 of the Rules of Procedure of the Committee, the Bureau made use of electronic consultation (April 2014) and approved the revised text of the report on the activities of the Committee between the fourth and fifth sessions of the General Assembly included in Document ITH/12/5.GA/4.1.



Functions of the Bureau

According to Rule 12.2 of the Committee’s Rules of Procedure, the Bureau ‘shall coordinate the work of the Committee and fix the dates, times and order of business of meetings. It shall exercise any other duty entrusted to it by the Committee’. Paragraph 49 of the Operational Directives designates the Bureau as the body authorized to approve international assistance requests up to US$25,000. The Bureau is also entrusted to evaluate and approve emergency requests greater than US$25,000 (paragraph 50 of the Operational Directives). In case of extreme urgency, and in conformity with Criterion U.6, the Bureau of the Committee may invite the State(s) Party(ies) concerned to submit a nomination to the List of Intangible Heritage in Need of Urgent Safeguarding on an accelerated schedule (paragraph 33 of the Operational Directives). If needed, the Bureau may, if the Chairperson deems it appropriate, consult by correspondence, including electronic consultation (Rule 12.3)