Mobilizing donors for the safeguarding of the intangible cultural heritage helps UNESCO to strengthen the scope and impact of its programmes.

Three main lines guide our action:

Donors support the work of UNESCO for safeguarding intangible cultural heritage in three ways:

1- Intangible Cultural Heritage Fund

The Intangible Cultural Heritage Fund essentially provides assistance to States Parties in their efforts for safeguarding.

Obligatory contribution

The States having ratified the Convention make an annual obligatory contribution, corresponding to 1% of their contribution to the regular budget of UNESCO.

Assessed contributions to the Fund: 31 July 2015

Voluntary supplementary contributions

Voluntary supplementary contributions may also be made not only by States, but also by any other donor, including public or private organizations and individuals. These contributions can be:

Voluntary contributor (States)Nature of the contribution
JapanEarmarked for a specific purpose
MonacoEarmarked for a specific purpose
NorwayEarmarked for a specific purpose
NetherlandsEarmarked for a specific purpose
Republic of KoreaSub-fund
SpainEarmarked for a specific purpose
TurkeyEarmarked for a specific purpose
Voluntary contributor (private bodies)Nature of the contribution
Swiss-Japanese Chamber of CommerceUnrestricted

2 - Loaned personnel

Donors are also encouraged to lend qualified personnel to the Secretariat of the Convention to assist it in carrying out its tasks, for a specific period of time during which they retain their employment relationship with the releasing institutions.
Supporting us by this means: Azerbaijan, China and Italy

3 - Funds-in-Trust

Funds-in-Trust are financial contributions that donors give for specific projects or programmes identified in cooperation with UNESCO. This modality prevailed to support the intangible heritage before the coming into operation of the Convention. Today it is used for supporting operational projects as well as staff working for a fixed period of time within the Secretariat.

Established Funds-in-Trust*: the Abu Dhabi Authority for Culture and Heritage (United Arab Emirates), Brazil, Bulgaria, Cyprus, the European Union, Flanders (Belgium), Hungary, Italy, Japan, Norway, Republic of Korea and Spain.

*More detailed information on Funds-in-Trust will be soon available