Institutions, organizations, contacts

National institutions

Permanent Delegation of the Republic of Slovenia to UNESCO
28, rue du Bois le Vent
75016 Paris;

Slovenian National Commission for UNESCO
Ministry of Higher Education, Science and Technology
Kotnikova ulica 38
1000 Ljubljana

UNESCO’s contacts

UNESCO Office in Venice
Regional Bureau for Science and Culture in Europe
Palazzo Zorzi, Castello 4930
30122 Venice
Culture Program officer:
Véronique Dauge (

UNESCO headquarters (ICH Section)
Regional officer:
Drobna, Helena (

Category 2 center(s)

Regional Centre for the Safeguarding of Intangible Cultural Heritage in South-Eastern Europe (Bulgaria)

Accredited NGOs located in this country

Name, address and sourceActivities related to ICH
International Council for Traditional Music - ICTM
Conseil international de la musique traditionnelle - CIMT [fr]
c/o Department of Musicology
Faculty of Arts
University of Ljubljana
Aškerčeva 2
1000 Ljubljana
Tel.: +1 410 501 5559

Accreditation request No. 90009: English
Decision-making meeting: 3.GA - 2010

Year of creation: 1947
Budget: U.S.$92050

- oral traditions and expressions
- performing arts
- social practices, rituals and festive events
- knowledge and practices concerning nature and the universe
- traditional craftsmanship

Safeguarding measures:

- identification, documentation, research (including inventory-making)
- promotion, enhancement
- transmission, (non-)formal education

Through its wide international representation the Council acts as a bond among peoples
of different cultures and thus serves the peace of humankind.
The aims of the ICTM are to further the study, practice, documentation, preservation and
dissemination of traditional music, including folk, popular, classical and urban music, and
dance, of all countries.
The International Council for Traditional Music organizes meetings, World Conferences,
Study Groups and Colloquia. In addition, the Council maintains a membership directory
and supervises the preparation and publication of journals and bulletins.
Study Groups are comprised of members in a common area of scholarly study. Study
Groups currently active include Folk Musical Instruments, Historical Sources of
Traditional Music, Ethnochoreology, Oceania, Iconography, Computer Aided Research,
Music and Gender, Maqam, Music of the Arab World, Anthropology of Music in
Mediterranean Cultures, Music and Minorities, Music Archeology, Musics of East Asia,
East Asian Historical Sources, Music of the Turkic Speaking World, Applied
Ethnomusicology and Music and Dance in Southeastern Europe. Study Groups are an
essential part of the ICTM. They hold periodic meetings and publish the results of their
ongoing research.
Colloquia have been organized by invitation since 1981. These events focus on selected
themes intensively discussed by smaller groups of scholars and representatives from
related fields.
ICTM world conferences are held biennially and offer the general membership and the
public opportunities for exchanges on a broad scope of issues. The 2009 world
conference will be held in Durban, South Africa. The last five world conferences were
held in Hiroshima, Japan (1999), Rio de Janeiro, Brazil (2001), Fuzhou & Quanzhou,
China (2003, rescheduled to 2004), Sheffield, U.K. (2005), Vienna, Austria (2007).
The ICTM has edited the CDs of the UNESCO Collection of Traditional Music from 1995
until it came to an end in 2005. The ICTM secretariat and ICTM members have been
actively involved in the process of evaluating the applications for the Masterpieces of the
Oral and Intangible Heritage of Humanity.
The Yearbook for Traditional Music, a referenced scholarly journal, is published annually
and carries essays, reviews and reports in the area of traditional music and dance for its
international readership. It was established in 1949 as a Journal of the International Folk
Music Council.
The Bulletin of the ICTM appears twice a year (April and October) with ICTM news,
calendar of future events and reports from Study Groups, National and Regional
Committees and Liaison Officers. It was established in 1948 as Bulletin of the
International Folk Music Council.
The ICTM website provides the most current information on ICTM conferences, Study
Group meetings, Colloquia in preparation, and recent publications. Members may
access the frequently updated ICTM Directory, apply for membership and submit
inquiries to the ICTM Secretariat at the website.
The 12 Executive Board members are elected by the ICTM members during the world
conferences and they include a President and two Vice Presidents.The Secretary
General is appointed by the Executive Board for four years and assited by an Executive
Most ICTM members do fieldwork in communities in rural or urban areas by participating
observation. Many take music and dance lessons and participate in performances of the
music and dance they study. In this way they are closely connected with the
communities and their practitioners of intangible cultural heritage.
Further, ICTM members act as liaisons between performers and theatres all over the
world. They may assist in supplying materials for building instruments or clothing for
dancing. Further, they quite often assist communities in getting access to audiovisual
recordings and increasingly assist communities in making their own audiovisual
recordings and establishing documentation centres.