Institutions, organisations, contacts

Institutions nationales

Délégation permanente de la République de Slovénie auprès de l’UNESCO
28, rue du Bois le Vent
75016 Paris;

Slovenian National Commission for UNESCO
Ministry of Higher Education, Science and Technology
Kotnikova ulica 38
1000 Ljubljana

Autorité désignée pour l’utilisation de l’emblème :

Commission nationale (voir les contact ci-dessus)

En savoir plus sur l’utilisation de l’emblème

Contacts UNESCO

Bureau de l'UNESCO à Venise
Regional Bureau for Science and Culture in Europe
Palazzo Zorzi, Castello 4930
30122 Venice
Chargé de programme culture :
Véronique Dauge (

Siège de l’UNESCO (section du PCI)
Responsable régional :
Samadov, Rasul (

Centre(s) de catégorie 2

Centre régional pour la sauvegarde du patrimoine culturel immatériel en Europe du Sud-Est (Bulgarie)

ONG accréditées situées dans ce pays

Nom, adresse et sourceActivités relatives au PCI
International Council for Traditional Music - ICTM
Conseil international de la musique traditionnelle - CIMT
c/o Department of Musicology
Faculty of Arts
University of Ljubljana
Aškerčeva 2
1000 Ljubljana
Tel.: +1 410 501 5559

Demande d’accréditation n° 90009 : anglais
Réunion décisionnaire : 3.GA - 2010

Date de création: 1947
Budget: U.S.$100333

- oral traditions and expressions
- performing arts
- social practices, rituals and festive events
- knowledge and practices concerning nature and the universe
- traditional craftsmanship

Mesure de sauvegarde:

- identification, documentation, research (including inventory-making)
- preservation, protection
- promotion, enhancement
- transmission, (non-)formal education
- revitalization

Pays principaux d’activité:

Afrique du Sud, Albanie, Allemagne, Argentine, Australie, Autriche, Azerbaïdjan, Bangladesh, Bélarus, Belgique, Bosnie-Herzégovine, Brésil, Bulgarie, Canada, Chine, Chypre, Costa Rica, Côte d'Ivoire, Croatie, Danemark, Équateur, Espagne, Estonie, Éthiopie, ex-République yougoslave de Macédoine, Fédération de Russie, Finlande, France, Géorgie, Ghana, Grèce, Guatemala, Hongrie, Inde, Indonésie, Iran (République islamique d’), Irlande, Israël, Italie, Japon, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Koweït, Lettonie, Liban, Lituanie, Madagascar, Malaisie, Malawi, Mexique, Mongolie, Monténégro, Mozambique, Nigéria, Norvège, Nouvelle-Zélande, Oman, Ouganda, Ouzbékistan, Palaos, Papouasie-Nouvelle-Guinée, Pays-Bas, Pérou, Philippines, Pologne, Portugal, République de Corée, République démocratique populaire lao, République tchèque, République-Unie de Tanzanie, Roumanie, Serbie, Singapour, Slovaquie, Slovénie, Soudan, Sri Lanka, Suède, Suisse, Thaïlande, Turquie, Ukraine, Vanuatu, Venezuela (République bolivarienne du), Viet Nam, Zambie, Zimbabwe

The International Council for Traditional Music is an NGO in formal consultative relations with UNESCO. Through its wide international representation, it acts as a bond among peoples of different cultures and thus serves the peace of humankind.
Its aims are to further the study, practice, documentation, preservation and dissemination of traditional music and dance of all countries.
The International Council for Traditional Music organizes World Conferences, Symposia and Colloquia, publishes a peer-reviewed journal Yearbook for Traditional Music, distributes the online Bulletin of the ICTM, and maintains an Online Membership Directory.
Study Groups are comprised of members in a common area of scholarly study. Currently there are 18 active ICTM Study Groups, on African Musics, Applied Ethnomusicology, Ethnochoreology, Folk Music Instruments, Historical Sources of Traditional Music, Iconography of the Performing Arts, Maqām, Mediterranean Music Studies, Multipart Music, Music Archeology, Music and Dance in Oceania, Music and Dance in Southeastern Europe, Music and Gender, Music and Minorities, Music in the Arab World, Music of the Turkic-speaking World, Musics of East Asia, and Performing Arts of Southeast Asia. Study Groups are an essential part of the ICTM. They hold periodic symposia and publish the results of their ongoing research.
Colloquia have been organized by invitation since 1981. These events focus on selected themes intensively discussed by smaller groups of scholars and representatives from related fields.
ICTM world conferences are held biennially and offer the general membership and the public opportunities for exchanges on a broad scope of issues. The 2015 world conference will be held in Astana, Kazakhstan. The last five world conferences were held in Sheffield, U.K. (2005), Vienna, Austria (2007), Durban, South Africa (2009), St. John’s, Canada (2011), and Shanghai, China (2013).
The ICTM has edited the CDs of the UNESCO Collection of Traditional Music from 1995 until it came to an end in 2005. The ICTM secretariat and ICTM members were actively involved in the process of evaluating the applications for the Masterpieces of the Oral and Intangible Heritage of Humanity, and afterwards they have served in the Consultative Body of the Intergovernmental Committee for the Safeguarding Intangible Cultural Heritage, which examined nominations for the Urgent Safeguarding List, requests for the International Assistance and proposals for the Register of Best Safeguarding Practices.
The Yearbook for Traditional Music, a referenced scholarly journal, is published annually and carries essays, reviews and reports in the area of traditional music and dance for its international readership. It was established in 1949 as the Journal of the International Folk Music Council.
The Bulletin of the ICTM appears three times a year (January, April and October) with ICTM news, calendar of future events, and reports from Study Groups, National and Regional Committees and Liaison Officers. It was established in 1948 as the Bulletin of the International Folk Music Council.
The ICTM website provides the most current information on ICTM conferences, Study Group Symposia, Colloquia in preparation, and recent publications. Members may access the frequently updated ICTM Online Membership Directory, apply for membership and submit inquiries to the ICTM Secretariat at the website.
Twelve Executive Board members are elected by the ICTM members during the world conferences and they include a President and two Vice Presidents. The Secretary General is appointed by the Executive Board and assisted in the Secretariat by an Executive Assistant. Since 2011, the Secretariat is located in Ljubljana, Slovenia. The ICTM has members in all states parties from the Electoral Group II except the Republic of Moldova, as well as in many other countries around the world (103 as of June 2014).

Most ICTM members do fieldwork in communities in rural or urban areas by participating observation. Many take music and dance lessons and participate in performances of the music and dance they study.
Furthermore, ICTM members act as liaisons between performers and performing venues all over the world. They quite often assist communities in getting access to audiovisual recordings, and increasingly assist them in making their own audiovisual recordings and establishing documentation centers.
Through its publications, the ICTM facilitates the exchange of information, and thus contributes to the promotion and awareness-rising on the importance of intangible cultural heritage. All activities are based on the principle of partnership with communities, groups and/or individuals concerned. ICTM members, organized in National and Regional Committees, are in various capacities involved in the implementation of the 2003 Convention on local, national, regional or international levels, including the participation in the ICH NGO Forum. They are particularly active in projects that aim towards documentation, research, promotion and revitalization of intangible cultural heritage.