The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization established the UNESCO Prize for Children's and Young People's Literature in the Service of Tolerance in order to carry the message of the United Nations Year for Tolerance beyond 1995.

The Prize is awarded every two years in recognition of published works for the young that best embody the concepts and ideals of tolerance and peace and promote mutual understanding based on respect for other peoples and cultures.

Submitted works may be:

  • Novels
  • Collections of short stories
  • Picture books

Entries should fit into one of these two categories:

  • Books for children up to 12 years old

  • Books for young people aged 13 to 18

The author of the prize-winning book in each category receives US$8,000, donated by the Grupo Editorial SM of Spain. Only publishers may submit books (three copies) through the National Commission for UNESCO in their respective countries. Direct submissions to UNESCO will not be accepted, except from countries that do not have a National Commission for UNESCO.

Should you require further information, please contact UNESCO at the address (postal, fax or e-mail) given in the Contact page.


2003 Winners    2001 Winners    1999 Winners    1997 Winners    Aims    Contact    Home