Participants in the second meeting of the High Panel


Special Guest:

  • Joseph Deiss (Switzerland), President of the 65th session of the United Nations General Assembly; former President of the Swiss Confederation (2004)

High Panel on Peace and Dialogue among Cultures:

  • Irina Bokova, Director-General of UNESCO
  • Jorge Sampaio (Portugal), High Representative of the UN Secretary-General for the Alliance of Civilizations; former President of Portugal
  • His Royal Highness Prince Turki Al Faisal Al Saud (Saudi Arabia), Chairman, Board of Directors, King Faisal Centre for Research and Islamic Studies
  • Ivonne A-Baki (Ecuador), Artist, UNESCO Goodwill Ambassador, former President of the Andean Parliament (2007) and former Minister of Foreign Trade of Ecuador (2003-2005)
  • Abdulaziz Othman Altwaijri (Saudi Arabia), Director-General of the Islamic Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (ISESCO)
  • Arjun Appadurai (India), Goddard Professor of Media, Culture, and Communication at the NYU Steinhardt School of Culture, Education and Human Development
  • Homi K. Bhabha (India), Anne F. Rothenberg Professor of the Humanities & Director of the Mahindra Humanities Center at Harvard University
  • Günter Blobel (Germany), Nobel Laureate in Physiology or Medicine (1999); John D. Rockefeller Jr. Professor and Investigator at the Howard Hughes Medical Institute at the Rockefeller University
  • Kjell Magne Bondevik (Norway), Founder and President of the Oslo Center for Peace and Human Rights; former Prime Minister of Norway
  • Chen Kaige (People's Republic of China), Film Director
  • Esther Coopersmith (USA), United Nations Peace Prize Laureate and UNESCO Goodwill Ambassador for Intercultural Dialogue
  • Vartan Gregorian (USA), President of Carnegie Corporation of New York and Former President of Brown University
  • Sabiha Al Khemir (Tunisia), painter, writer, curator and historian of Islamic art, Founding Director of the Museum of Islamic Art in Doha, Qatar
  • Omer Zülfu Livaneli (Turkey), Writer, musician, Film Director and Member of Parliament
  • Candido Mendes (Brazil), Secretary-General of the Academy of Latinity and Dean of the Universidade Candido Mendes
  • Babatunde Osotimehin (Nigeria), Under Secretary-General of the United Nations; Executive Director of the United Nations Population Fund (UNFPA)
  • Aminata Traore (Mali), President of the “Forum pour un autre Mali” ; former Minister for Culture and Tourism
  • Forest Whitaker (USA), Artist, Film Director and Producer