UNESCO Chair/Network on Afro-Iberoamerican Studies (214), established in 1994 at the University of Alcalá de Henares (Spain). 


Iberoamerican Cultures.


The chair is the focal point of the tri-continental UNITWIN Network of research on the African roots of Iberoamerican cultures which has been created with an aim of coordinating the research in this field of the member universities.

Host Institution

  • University of Alcalá de Henares. Website


  • Universidad Javeriana, Bogota (Colombia). Website
  • Centro Cultural Africano Fernando Ortíz, Santiago de Cuba (Cuba). Website
  • Fundación Fernando Ortiz (Cuba)
  • Casa del Caribe, Santiago de Cuba (Cuba). Website
  • Universidad de La Habana (Cuba). Website
  • Universidad de Oriente, Santiago de Cuba (Cuba). Website
  • Universidad Central de Las Villas (Cuba). Website
  • Université de Cocody (Côte d'Ivoire).
  • Universidad del Atlántico (Côte d’Ivoire).
  • Universidad Nacional de Guinea Ecuatorial, Malabo (Ecuatorial Guinea). Website
  • Université Omar Bongo (Gabon). Website
  • Université de Antananarivo (Madagascar). Website
  • Universidad de Guanajuato(Mexico). Website
  • Universidad Veracruzana (Mexico). Website
  • Bluefields Indian and Caribbean University (Nicaragua).
  • Université du Bénin au Togo (Togo). Website
  • Members of the Tricontinental Network of higher education institutions for réhabilitaion, recognition and research on "africanity ".
  • Universidade Federal de Rondônia (Brasil).
  • Afroamérica-México (México).

UNESCO Sector/Office responsible for the Chair/Network



  • Progress Report 2006 (short version)                                          Activities of the UNESCO Chair/ Network on Afro-Iberoamerican Studies.


Dr. Luis Beltrán, Coordinator

Universidad de Alcalá
E-Mail address - luis.beltran(at)
Work Phone - (34) 91 885 52 33 / 42 02
Fax - (34) 91 885 42 39
Street - Antiguo Colegio Mayor de San Ildefonso, Plaza de San Diego, s/n
City - Alcalá de Henares
Postal Code - E 28801
Country - Espagne