The Chinese World Heritage List

The 23 Chinese properties  which the World Heritage Committee has inscribed on the World Heritage List (15 cultural, 3 natural and 5 mixed properties)

The World Heritage Committee has inscribed the following Chinese properties on the World Heritage List. The List, arranged chronologically by nominating years, is current as of December 1999. The list will be updated following the next meeting of the Committee in December 2000.

1987 The Great Wall
1987 Mount Taishan
1987 Imperial Palace of the Ming and Qing Dynasties
1987 Mogao Caves
1987 Mausoleum of the First Qin Emporer
1987 Peking Man Site at Zhoukoudian

1990 Mount Huangshan

1992 Jiuzhaigou Valley Scenic and Historic Interest Area
1992 Huanglong Scenic and Historic Interest Area
1992 Wulingyuan Scenic and Historic Interest Area

1994 The Mountain Resort and its Outlying Temples, Chengde
1994 Temple and Cemetery of Confucius, and the Kong Family Mansion in Qufu
1994 Ancient Building Complex in the Wudang Mountains
1994 Potala Palace, Lhasa

1996 Lushan National Park
1996 Mount Emei and Leshan Giant Buddha

1997 Old Town of Lijiang
1997 Ancient City of Ping Yao
1997 Classical Gardens of Suzhou

1998 Summer Palace, an Imperial Garden in Beijing
1998 Temple of Heaven -- an Imperial Sacrificial Altar in Beijing

1999 Mount Wuyi
1999 Dazu Rock Carvings

UNESCO Representative Office to China, Mongolia and DPR Korea
5-15-3 Diplomatic Compound
Jiangoumenwai, 100600 Beijing, CHINA