UNESCO at the World Social Forum 2002

After the demonstrations in Seattle, Prague, Nice and Genoa, and above all following the meeting of the First World Social Forum in January 2001, we are expecting a large number of people at Porto Alegre from 31 January to 5 February 2002 for the second World Social Forum (WSF II). But we shall not be marching in the streets in Porto Alegre; we shall be discussing possible alternatives for a world that is more just and socially sustainable.

Debates during this studious and committed gathering will be organized around four major themes: production of wealth, access to wealth, affirmation of civil society and the public arena, and political and ethical power. The aim of WSF II is to reflect on the best ways to promote the values of justice, solidarity and democratic participation and, on the basis of this analysis and the resulting diagnosis, to start to make proposals and strategies different from the "neoliberal" kind connected with globalization and its new orthodox thinking. While the globalization process brings with it forms of integration, it also generates forms of exclusion by providing new opportunities of enrichment for significant sectors and groups of society while marginalizing numerous other political and social actors.

UNESCO, as a laboratory of ideas and as the organization responsible for international intellectual and scientific cooperation must naturally take an active part in the global movement in favour of social development, by contributing to the progress of knowledge and the establishment of principles and policies. It is for this reason that UNESCO will renew its participation this year in the WSF.

UNESCO, in cooperation with its partners in civil society, is proposing three workshops that will focus on contemporary issues relating to the Organization’s fields of competence – Education, the Sciences, Culture and Communication – while trying to establish links between scientific knowledge and public action. It will also have a stand on the WSF premises to provide information on the Organization’s activities and an area for informal discussion and reflection.

The time has come to ask ourselves: What are the possible alternatives when confronted with a globalization process that is exclusively market-driven and devoid of solidarity? Is it possible to implement the processes of globalization with social justice as the main goal?

UNESCO’s participation in the World Social Forum is important. UNESCO and WSF share the conviction that they must reinforce the collective and alternative building of a new social order. Strengthened with realistic strategies, this joint utopia may one day see the human aspiration to a fairer world come true, and globalization and human rights become two converging movements. During the first World Social Forum, UNESCO instigated a debate on democratic governance. This is a strategic theme that we propose to build upon in a political and future-oriented discussion.

At the centre of this debate, the contributions of the African, Asian, European and Latin American participants will cover four basic questions:

    • the role of the State and of social movements in reinforcing the capacity of democracies to oppose and manage globalization to the benefit of their citizens;

    • international regulating bodies already in existence and those needing to be set up;

    • the means of introducing governance of the global system founded on democratic principles;

    • the roles for the United Nations and for non-State actors, particularly NGOs, in such global democratic governance.

It has been seen from the different publications covering this debate that there is a need for deeper analyses of democracy as a complex system for managing conflicts that favours the political over economic aspects. Hence the generative question: how should democracy be viewed in the face of the political representation crisis and the emergence of new forms of citizenship?

With "Democratic governance" as a general strategic theme, the debate this year will be more focused, dealing with specific issues situated historically in a particular time and place. The programme that UNESCO is proposing for WSF II has three themes that will be developed in three seminars:

The seminars aim to promote an open debate on the main themes of the WSF, and more specifically on:

    • access to possessions and sustainability;
    • dynamics, social movements and governance;
    • principles, values and cultural identity.
  © 2002 - UNESCO   
Image: © UNESCO, G. Solinís

L'UNESCO au Forum social mondial 2002

Après les manifestations de Seattle, Prague, Nice, Gênes, et surtout suite au rassemblement du premier Forum Social Mondial (janvier 2001), de nombreuses personnes sont attendues à Porto Alegre du 31 janvier au 5 février 2002 pour le second Forum Social Mondial (FSM II). A Porto Alegre, il ne s'agira pas de manifester en marchant dans les rues, mais de discuter les alternatives possibles pour un monde plus juste et socialement durable.

Au cours de cette mobilisation studieuse et engagée, les débats s’articuleront autour de quatre axes thématiques : production de richesses, accès aux richesses, affirmation de la société civile et des espaces publics, et pouvoir politique et éthique. Le but du FSM II est de réfléchir à la meilleure façon de promouvoir des valeurs de justice, de solidarité et de participation démocratique et, à partir de leur analyse et du diagnostic développé, commencer à formuler des propositions et des stratégies autres à l'orientation « néolibérale » de la mondialisation et à la pensée unique qui lui est associée. Si le processus de mondialisation est porteur d'intégration, il génère aussi des formes d'exclusion, favorisant d'un côté de nouvelles occasions d’enrichissement pour certains secteurs et groupes significatifs de la société, et marginalisant de l'autre de nombreux acteurs politiques et sociaux.

L'UNESCO, en tant que laboratoire d’idées et organisation chargée de la coopération intellectuelle et scientifique internationale, est appelée à prendre une part active dans le mouvement global en faveur du développement social en contribuant à l’avancement du savoir et l’élaboration de principes et de politiques. C'est pourquoi cette année encore, l’UNESCO renouvelle sa participation au FSM.

En coopération avec ses partenaires de la société civile, l’UNESCO propose trois ateliers qui porteront sur des enjeux contemporains liés aux domaines de compétences de l'organisation – éeducation, sciences, culture et communication – tout en essayant d’établir des liens entre savoir scientifique et action publique. Elle sera également présente sur un stand dans l’enceinte du FSM II , lieu d'information sur les activités de l'organisation ainsi que espace informel d'échange et de réflexion.

Le temps est venu de se demander : Quelles sont les alternatives possibles face à une mondialisation exclusivement marchande et non solidaire? Est-ce possible de mettre en œuvre les processus de mondialisation pour la justice sociale ?

La participation de l’UNESCO au Forum social mondial est importante. L’une et l’autre partagent la conviction de devoir renforcer la construction collective et alternative pour un nouvel ordre social. Forte d’actions stratégiques réalistes, cette vision commune peut faire de la mondialisation et du respect des droits humains deux processus convergents. Lors du premier Forum Social Mondial, l’UNESCO avait promu un débat autour de la gouvernance démocratique, comme thème stratégique de discussion politique et prospective.

Au centre de ce débat, les apports des participants africains, asiatiques, européens et latino-américains, porteront sur :

    • le rôle de l’Etat et des mouvements sociaux dans le renforcement de la capacité des démocraties à contrer et à gérer la mondialisation au profit de leurs citoyens ;
    • les instances de régulation internationale existantes et à mettre en place ;
    • les moyens d'instaurer une gouvernance du système mondial fondée sur des principes démocratiques ;
    • les rôles pour les Nations Unies et pour les acteurs non-étatiques, notamment les ONG, dans cette gouvernance démocratique mondiale.

Sur la base des débats, les différentes publications ont fait ressortir le besoin d’approfondir les analyses autour de la démocratie en tant que système complexe de gestion des conflits, qui privilégie le politique sur l'économique. D’où la question générative : comment considérer la démocratie face à la crise de la représentation politique, à l’émergence de nouvelles formes de citoyenneté ?

La « gouvernance démocratique », comme thème stratégique, orientera cette année le débat autour de questions plus focalisées, situées historiquement dans un lieu, un temps et une problématique particulière. Le programme que l’UNESCO propose pour le FSM II comporte trois thèmes qui seront développés à l’occasion de trois séminaires :

Les séminaires visent à promouvoir un débat ouvert notamment sur les axes du FSM II, notamment :

    • accès aux biens et durabilité;
    • dynamiques, mouvements sociaux et gouvernance;
    • principes, valeurs et identités culturelles.

  © 2002 - UNESCO   
Image: © UNESCO, G. Solinís