English Français

Europe and North America

Austrian Commission for UNESCO
General Information
English NameAustrian Commission for UNESCO
French NameCommission autrichienne pour l'UNESCO

Universitätsstraße 5/4. Floor/12
A-1010 Vienna

Phone(43-1) 526 13 01
Fax(43-1) 526 13 01 - 20
E-mailoeuk@unesco.at; eschig@unesco.at (SG)
National Commissions Web site on unesco.orghttp://www.unesco.at
Correspondence LanguageENGLISH
Office Holders
NameDr. Sabine Haag
StartedFebruary 2018

Dr Sabine Haag, President

NameMs Gabriele Eschig
Election DateMarch 2000
Mandated durationnot fixed
StartedMarch 2000
Type of AppointmentAppointed upon the decision of the Executive Board.

Mrs Gabriele Eschig, Secretary-General

Date and Method of Creation30 June 1949
Department attached toFrom its inception till 2001, the Commission functioned as a semi-autonomous governmental body affiliated with the Federal Ministry for Education, Arts and Culture. In 2002, it changed its status and became an independent registered society. The Comm
Legislation DatesThe judicial text was accepted30/06/1949 and last revised
LegislationThe statutes of the Austrian NatCom were drawn up in 2002 and were last revised in 2006.
Documentation CentreThe Austrian NatCom runs a documentation centre containing essential UNESCO literature and reports which is accommodated in the library of the Diplomatic Academy Vienna. The inventory of literature is available through an electronic catalogue. Also, a specialized library is accommodated in the premises of the Austrian NatCom and holds the most important UNESCO-publications. It receives periodic inquiries from students, scholars and the public at large.
Structure of the CommissionThe National Commission consists of the following bodies:
- The General Assembly, which meets once a year;
- The Executive Committee, which meets six times a year;
- The Programme/ Advisory Committees and one working group.
Members/CompositionThe National Commission comprises:
- statutory members from the federal government: the Ministry for Education, Arts and Culture, the Federal Ministry for Foreign Affairs, the Federal Ministry of Science and Research, the Federal Chancellery, the Federal Ministry for Agriculture, Forestry, Environment and Water Management, and the Federal Ministry of Health Family and Youth; the provincial governments/federal states and the Association KulturKontakt Austria;
- members accepted due to their application for membership;
- members because of their functions in UNESCO related organs.

Executive CommitteeComposed of representatives of the Federal Ministry for Education, Arts and Culture, the Federal Ministry for Foreign Affairs, the Federal Ministry of Science and Research, the Federal Chancellery, 1 representative of the nine Provincial Governments of Austria, 1 representative of a NGO in the field of Culture and the Chairpersons of all Programme/Advisory Committees. Meets 4 times a year.
General AssemblyComposed 27 members, representing relevant Ministries, nine Provincial Governments of Austria, national professional organizations, universities, 4 institutions and 13 individual experts.Meets in plenary once a year
Committees or Sub-CommitteesPresently, the Commission has three sub-committees and one working group. The sub-committees are the IFAP Austrian National Committee/Advisory Panel, the Advisory Panel on Youth and “Education for Sustainable Development and Global Learning”. The working group is on Cultural Diversity. They hold their meetings according to necessity.
Committees/Sub-Committees Details
Number of Committees or Sub-Committees4
Sub-committee Topics[X] Education
[X] Culture
[X] Communication
[X] Youth
Interaction with UNESCO and National Commissions
OverviewThe National Commission carries out joint activities with a number of other National Commissions in Europe (German Speaking NatComs, France, Georgia).
FORUM, UNESCO-Schulen Osterreich (ASP Newsletter Austria)
PeriodicityOnce a year
Financingnational funds
DistributionASP Schools, provincial and national school authorities