English Français

Europe and North America

Bosnia and Herzegovina
National Commission of Bosnia and Herzegovina for UNESCO
General Information
English NameNational Commission of Bosnia and Herzegovina for UNESCO
French NameCommission nationale de Bosnie-Herzégovine pour l'UNESCO

Ministry of Civil Affairs
Trg BIH 1
BA - 71000 Sarajevo
Bosnia and Herzegovina

Phone(387) 33.492.552 (SG);
(387) 33.492.598;
Fax(387) 33.492.632
E-mailbiljana.camur@mcp.gov.ba (SG); jelena.vukovic@mcp.gov.ba;
National Commissions Web site on unesco.orghttp://www.mcp.gov.ba
Correspondence LanguageENGLISH
Office Holders
NameMr Sredoje Novic *
Election Date26 August 2008
Mandated duration
StartedAugust 2008
Type of AppointmentAppointed by the Cabinet

NameMs Biljana Camur
Election Date18 November 2010
Mandated duration
StartedNovember 2010

Date and Method of Creation1993
LegislationThe National Commission was re-established in September 1999.
Documentation CentreAll documentation and publications are currently kept in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of BiH.
Structure of the CommissionThe Commission is composed of 10 members. The Chairperson of the Commission has been appointed by the Council of Ministers. The establishment of four Committees (Science, Education, Culture and Communication) is under way.
Members/CompositionAt the beginning the National Commission comprised 11 members. Due to financial and other reasons, the Commission remained non functional for a number of years. Since it was re-established, the representatives of all ethnic groups in its undertakings are involved
Interaction with UNESCO and National Commissions
OverviewUNESCO Field Office in Sarajevo; Slovenian National Commission for UNESCO; Slovakian National Commission for UNESCO; UNESCO Office in Venice (BRESCE), Rumanian National Comissions for UNESCO.