English Français

Latin America and the Caribbean

Barbados National Commission for UNESCO
General Information
English NameBarbados National Commission for UNESCO
French NameCommission nationale des Barbades pour l'UNESCO

Ministry of Creative Economy, Culture and Sports
Elsie Payne Complex
Constitution Road
St. Michael BB 11124
Barbados, W.I

Phone(246) 621 2700
Fax(246) 436 2411
National Commissions Web site on unesco.orghttp://mes.gov.bb
Correspondence LanguageENGLISH
Office Holders
NameMs Allisandra Cummins
Election DateJune 1998
Mandated duration
StartedJune 1998
Government PostOther

alissandra cummins

NameMrs Karen Best
TitleDeputy Chairperson
StartedJanuary 2018

NameMrs Joycelyn Sealy
TitleSecretary General
StartedJanuary 2018

NameMs Deborah Payne
TitlePermanent Secretary of the Ministry of Creative Economy, Culture and Sports
StartedAugust 2018

Date and Method of Creation1970
StatusGovernmental (several Ministries)
Department attached toMinistry of Creative Economy, Culture and Sports
Documentation CentreNone.
Structure of the CommissionOne Chairperson, one Secretary General and nine other members
Members/CompositionEleven members
Executive CommitteeThe National Commission is composed of 4 Programme Committees which convene meetings once every quarter. The full National Commission meets one to two times per year or as necessary.
Committees/Sub-Committees Details
Number of Committees or Sub-Committees4
Sub-committee Topics[X] Education
[X] Science
[X] Social Sciences
[X] Culture
[X] Communication
[X] Youth
Interaction with UNESCO and National Commissions
OverviewThe Barbados National Commission for UNESCO maintains a close and effective cooperation with the Kingston Office and with the Caribbean National Commissions.