English Français

Asia and the Pacific

National Commission of the People's Republic of China for UNESCO
General Information
English NameNational Commission of the People's Republic of China for UNESCO

37, Damucang Hutong Xidan
CN - 100816 Beijing

Phone(86-10) 66 09 68 44 (General Policy and Admin Office);
(86-10) 66 09 65 53 (Div. Science and Culture);
(86-10) 66 09 62 49 (Div. Education)
Fax(86-10) 66 01 79 12
E-mailnatcomcn@moe.edu.cn; qin-cw@moe.edu.cn (SG)
National Commissions Web site on unesco.orghttp://www.unesco.org.cn/index.jsp (in Chinese only)
Correspondence LanguageENGLISH
Office Holders
NameMr Tian Xuejun
Election DateMars 2017
Mandated duration
StartedMarch 2017

NameMr. Qin Changwei
Election Date02/05/2018
Mandated duration
StartedMay 2018

Date and Method of CreationFebruary 1979
StatusGovernmental (1 Ministry)
Department attached toMinistry of Education
Legislation DatesThe judicial text was accepted01/01/1979 and last revised
LegislationThe founding text of the National Commission submitted jointly by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and the Ministry of Education, was approved by the State Council in 1979.
Documentation CentreThe Commission operates a modest Documentation Centre, which holds all UNESCO publications acquired over the last twenty years. It is open to visitors but needs to be computerized and administered by a professional documentalist to be fully functional.
Structure of the CommissionThe Commission consists of the following bodies:
- The General Assembly;
- The Standing Committee;
- 15 Programme Committees;
- Parternerships (Category II Centers, higher education, research institutions etc.)
- The Secretariat which comprises three Divisions (Education, General Policy and Planning, Science and Culture).
Members/CompositionThe Commission is composed of 29 members known for their work and/or research within the fields of competence of UNESCO. They comprise Central Government Ministries and Agencies; major professional associations; academic institutions; media representatives; academic; etc.
Executive CommitteeThe Commission has a standing Committee composed of the Chairperson, seven Vice-Chairpersons (representing the Ministries of Science and Technology; Culture; Foreign Affairs; and the Chinese Academies of Sciences and Social Sciences; land and resources; housing and rural-urban development), the Secretary-General and the Deputy Secretary-General. The Standing Committee meets once or twice a year.
General AssemblyComposed of 29 members representing UNESCO’s fields of competence, including the Central Government Ministries and Agencies, major professional associations, academic institutions, media representatives, etc. The General Assembly meets once a year.
Committees or Sub-CommitteesThe Commission has 15 specialized committees
• Education for All
• Education for Sustainable Development
• Man and Biosphere
• International Geoscience Programme
• International Hydrological Programme
• Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission
• Management of Social Transformations
• Memory of the World
• World Heritage Centre
• Copyright
• Return of Cultural Properties
• Information for All
• UNESCO Chairs
• UNESCO Clubs and Associations
• ASPnet Schools
Committees/Sub-Committees Details
Number of Committees or Sub-Committees15
Sub-committee Topics[X] Education
[X] Science
[X] Social Sciences
[X] Culture
[X] Communication
[X] Other
Interaction with UNESCO and National Commissions
OverviewThe Commission maintains fruitful relations with National Commissions from Asia and the Pacific as well as other Regions (Italy, Germany, France). Invitations to international events hosted by the Commission are often extended to other Commissions. The Chinese National Commissions (Rep. Korea, Thailand, Japan, Romania, Kyrgyzstan, etc). Efforts have been made to strengthen ties with National Commissions of the Sub-Region. In this regards, the Commission initiated and participates in a new Sub-Regional network composed of five National Commissions in East Asia (China, DPR Korea, Japan, Mongolia and Rep. Korea). The five National Commissions hold Annual meetings. The Commission also maintains close contacts with the UNESCO Offices in Beijing, Bangkok and Jakarta and regularly cooperates with the IIEP in Paris, the IBE in Geneva and the UIE in Hamburg.
DistributionNational Commissions, UNESCO Headquarters, Regional Offices and the Beijing Office
Work Report of Chinese National Commission ofr UNESCO
Distributionmembers of the Commission and relevant ministries, institutions and associations involved in UNESCO activities.