English Français

Latin America and the Caribbean

Dominican Republic
Comisión Nacional Dominicana para la UNESCO
General Information
English NameDominican Republic National Commission for UNESCO
French NameCommission nationale de la République dominicaine pour l'UNESCO
Spanish NameComisión Nacional de la República Dominicana para la UNESCO

Biblioteca Nacional Pedro Henríquez Ureña
3er piso, Plaza de la Cultura,
Calle César Nicolás Penson, N°.91
Santo Domingo, Distrito Nacional
República dominicana

E-mailinterinstitucionales@cndu.gob.do; comisionunesco@cndu.gob.do
National Commissions Web site on unesco.orghttp://www.cndu.gob.do; www.facebook.com; www.twitter.com
Correspondence LanguageESPAÑOL
Office Holders
NameArq. Eduardo Selman
StartedMay 2018

NameDr. Luis O. Brea Franco
TitleSecretario General
StartedMay 2017

NameJenny Acosta
TitleEncargada de Relaciones Interinstitucionales
StartedSeptember 2017

Date and Method of CreationOn 14 November 1957 by a presidential decree
StatusGovernmental (1 Ministry)
Department attached toMinistry of Culture
Legislation DatesThe judicial text was accepted19/02/1965 and last revised
LegislationThe Commission was first established in 1957 (14/11/1957) as a Commission for Intellectual Cooperation by the Presidential Mandate n° 3297. It was then reorganized and became "National Commission for UNESCO" in February 1965 (Presidential Mandate n° 2147). Since then, the Commission has undertaken and finalized various restructuring processes (1971, 1975, 1992)
Documentation CentreThe Documentation Centre is in process of catalogation and digitalisation.
Structure of the CommissionThe National Commission consists of the following bodies:
- The General Assembly;
- Five Programme Committees: Education; Culture; Science and Technology; Social Sciences; Information and Communication.
- The Secretariat.

Members/CompositionThe Membership of the National Commission is composed of representatives of the Government, national institutions, NGOs, and distinguished personalities -designated for their personal competence.
Executive CommitteeThe Commission has no Executive Committee. Plannig and consultation process include the Chairperson, the Secretary-General, the Deputy Secretary-General along with coordinators of the sub-commissions (see below) and the Permanent Delegate. Within the implementation of changes since 1997 a collaboration modality was designed through sub-commissions according to the areas of competence of UNESCO fields of action were called to offer suggestions, write proposals and prepare draft resolutions. The present decision is to designate one specialist per subject area as a regular collaborator who would also consult other specialists for specific actions.
General AssemblyComposed of 32 members representing the relevant Ministries (Culture; Economy, Planning and Development; Education; Higher Education, Science and Technology; Youth; Environment and Natural Resources; Foreign Affairs; and Tourism), Programme and National Committees; UNESCO Chairs, Clubs and ASPnet; universities; professional associations; non-governmental organizations; and individual experts.
Meets once a year.
Committees or Sub-CommitteesThe National Commission consists of five Programme Committees:
1. Subcommittee of Education
a) ASPNET Advisory Council
2. Subcommittee of Culture
a) Dominican`s Memory of the World Committee
3. Subcommittee of Exact and Natural Sciences
4. Subcommittee of Social Sciences
a) Dominican's Bioethics Committee
5. Subcommittee of Information and Communication
Committees/Sub-Committees Details
Number of Committees or Sub-Committees5
PeriodicityWhen required
Sub-committee Topics[X] Education
[X] Science
[X] Social Sciences
[X] Culture
[X] Communication
Interaction with UNESCO and National Commissions
OverviewThe Dominican National Commission maintains working relations with some UNESCO Field Offices, such as those in San José, Guatemala and Havana.

The Commission collaborates with the National Commissions of the LAC Region and the Commissions of Cuba and Germany for specific activities.
República Dominicana y UNESCO : Hacia Nuevas Formas de Cooperación