English Français


Malawi National Commission for UNESCO
General Information
English NameMalawi National Commission for UNESCO
French NameCommission nationale du Malawi pour l'UNESCO

CHAM Secretariat Building, Area 14
P.O. Box 30278
Capital City
Lilongwe 3

Phone265 111 774 043/044
Fax(265 1) 755 134
E-mailmnatcomunesco@mtlonline.mw; dmulera.mnatcomunesco@mtlonline.mw; dmulera@yahoo.com;
Correspondence LanguageENGLISH
Office Holders
NameDr Emmanuel Fabiano
Election Date6/2018
Mandated duration
StartedDecember 2014

NameMr Emmanuel B Z Kondowe
TitleActing Secretary-General
StartedNovember 2016

NameDavid Mc. W. J. Mulera
TitleActing Deputy Secretary-General
StartedNovember 2016

Date and Method of CreationOn 1 June 1979 by a General Order of the Council of Ministers
Department attached toaffiliated with the Ministry of Education
Legislation DatesThe judicial text was accepted01/01/1979 and last revised
LegislationThe National Commission was officially established by a General Order approved by the Council of Ministers in 1979 although the country has been involved in, and benefited from, UNESCO activities since 1964 when it attained independence.
The Commission has a Constitution specifying its organization, duties and powers. This Constitution was amended in 1993 and 1995.
Documentation CentreThe Documentation Centre of the National Commission holds some 5000 publications, most of them being issued by UNESCO or the National Commission. The Centre is extensively used by scholars and researchers.
Structure of the CommissionThe National Commission consists of:
- The Executive Board, which meets at least 2 times a year;
- The General Assembly representing relevant government departments and institutions, which meets once a year.
- The Appointment, Audit and Finance Committee, which also meets 2 times a year to discuss matters of personnel, audit and approve expenditures.
- The Secretariat
- 4 Sections: 1) Accounts; 2) Administration; 3) Education and Science; 4) Culture, Communication and Information.
Members/CompositionThe National Commission comprises 32 members.
Executive CommitteePolicy making organ of the Commission composed of 10 members, including representatives of relevant ministries (Education, Finance, Information and Civic Education, Justice, External Affairs, Statutory Corporations, Department of Culture, and Department of Science and Technology) and the University of Malawi appointed by the President of the Republic .The Executive Board meets at least twice a year.
General AssemblyCurrently composed of 32 members, representing relevant government departments and institutions. The General Assembly meets once a year.
Committees or Sub-CommitteesThe Commission has one committee called Finance, Appointments and Audit, which is composed of five members elected from the Executive Board.
Committees/Sub-Committees Details
Number of Committees or Sub-Committees1
Sub-committee Topics[X] Other
Interaction with UNESCO and National Commissions
OverviewThe Malawi National Commission collaborates with other National Commissions and maintains good working relations with the UNESCO Field Offices of Harare, Nairobi and Dakar.
Annual or Biennal Report
PeriodicityAnnual or biennal
DistributionThe journal is supposed to be published annually but due to financial and other problems, it has mostly been published once every two years.