English Français


Nigerian National Commission for UNESCO
General Information
English NameNigerian National Commission for UNESCO
French NameCommission nationale du Nigéria pour l'UNESCO

Plot 245, Samuel Adesujo Ademulegun Street
2nd Floor, Central Business District

Mail AddressP.M.B. 476,
Garki, Abuja
Phone+234- 8033526843
Fax(+ 234.9) 413 91 37
E-mailnatcom.unesco@education.gov.ng; kayotunde84@yahoo.com
Correspondence LanguageENGLISH
Office Holders
NameH. E. Mr Mallam Adamu Adamu
StartedNovember 2015

NameMr. Kehinde A. Ayotunde
StartedSeptember 2017

Date and Method of Creation25 November 1963
StatusGovernmental (1 Ministry)
Department attached toMinistry of Education
LegislationThe Commission was created by a Governmental Decree in 1963 and is attached to the Educational Support Services Department of the Federal Ministry of Education.
Documentation CentreThe National Commission has its own Library and Documentation Centre which holds over 8000 copies of various UNESCO publications. The Centre is run by a professional documentalist who works on a full-time basis. Over 200 students, academics and the public at large consult the Centre annually.
Structure of the CommissionThe National Commission consists of the following bodies:
- The General Assembly
- The Executive Committee
- 5 Programme Committees
- The Secretariat.
Members/CompositionComposed of 43 members
Executive CommitteeComposed of 10 members, including the President, the Chairperson, the Chairpersons of the five Programme Committees, the Director and the Deputy Director of the Supervising Department of the Ministry of Education, and the Secretary-General. Meets at least once a year.
General AssemblyComposed of 43 members, including the members of the Executive Committee, representatives of relevant Ministries (Foreign Affairs; Education; Science and Technology; Communication and Information; Agriculture and Water Resources; etc.), UNESCO Clubs, universities and national institutions. The General Assembly meets at least once a year
Committees or Sub-Committeescorresponding to the major programme areas of UNESCO, namely: (1) Education; (2) Science and Technology; (3) Social and Human Sciences; (4) Culture; and (5) Communication and Information. The Members of the Sub-Committees meets at least once a year during the Plenary meeting of the Commission. They assemble in small sectoral groups.
Committees/Sub-Committees Details
Number of Committees or Sub-Committees5
PeriodicityEach committee meets at least once a year
Sub-committee Topics[X] Education
[X] Science
[X] Social Sciences
[X] Culture
[X] Communication
Interaction with UNESCO and National Commissions
OverviewThe National Commission collaborates with a number of National Commissions within the Africa Region.
Annual Report of the Nigerian National Commission for UNESCO
TypeAnnual Report
DistributionWithin the Ministry of Education and National Assembly