English Français

Arab States

Qatar National Commission for Education, Culture and Science
General Information
English NameQatar National Commission for Education, Culture and Science
French NameCommission nationale du Qatar

P.O. Box 9865

Phone(974) 44 04 44 44
Fax(974) 44 04 45 57;
Correspondence LanguageENGLISH
Office Holders
NameDr Mohammed Abdul Wahed Al Hammadi*
StartedJanuary 2014
Government PostMinister of Education

NameDr. Hamda Hassan Al-Sulaiti
TitleSecretary General
StartedJune 2014

Date and Method of Creation1962
StatusGovernmental (1 Ministry)
Legislation DatesThe judicial text was accepted01/01/1971 and last revised 01/01/1993
LegislationThe Cabinet Resolutions of 1971, which found the National Commission, were modified in 1979 and 1993.
Documentation CentreThe Documentation Centre, which is administered by a professional librarian, possesses UNESCO, ALECSO, and ISESCO publications. It is visited by students, academics, journalists and the public at large.
Structure of the CommissionThe National Commission is composed of the following bodies:
- The General Assembly, which meets once a year;
- The Executive Committee, which meets four times a year;
- Four Sub-Commissions for: Education; Culture; Social Sciences; Sciences. The Sub-Commissions meet when required;
- The Secretariat.
Members/CompositionThe National Commission comprises members representing the Ministries and the national organizations involved in UNESCO's fields of competence.
Executive CommitteeThe Executive Committee of the Commission meets four times per annum.
General AssemblyThe General Assembly of the Commission meets annually.
Committees or Sub-CommitteesThe Commission has four sub-commissions (education, culture, social science and science) which meet when required.
Interaction with UNESCO and National Commissions
OverviewThe National Commission cooperats with the UNESCO Field Offices of Egypt, Jordan, Lebanon, Morocco and Qatar.