English Français

Europe and North America

Slovenian National Commission for UNESCO
General Information
English NameSlovenian National Commission for UNESCO

Ministry of Education, Science and Sport
Kotnikova ulica 38
1000 Ljubljana

Phone(+386 1) 478 47 99
Fax(386 1) 478 46 60
E-mailmarjutka.hafner@gov.si (SG); gasper.hrastelj@gov.si; barbara.urbanija@gov.si
National Commissions Web site on unesco.orghttp://www.unesco.si
Correspondence LanguageENGLISH
Office Holders
NameProf. Dr. Radovan Stanislav Pejovnik
StartedMay 2011

NameMs Marjutka Hafner
Election DateNovember 2006
Mandated duration
StartedNovember 2006

NameMr Gasper Hrastelj
TitleDeputy Secretary-General
Election DateMarch 2008
Mandated duration
StartedMarch 2008

Date and Method of Creation1992
StatusGovernmental (1 Ministry)
LegislationThe Commission was first established in 1982 as the Commission of the Executive Council of the Socialist Federal Republic of Slovenia for cooperation with UNESCO. In 1991, after the declaration of independence of the Republic of Slovenia, the Commission became the "Slovenian National Commission for UNESCO".
In May 2000, the Statutes of the Commission were approved by the Government.
Documentation CentreIt holds mainly UNESCO publications. There are many requests for publications, in the National Library, a UNESCO corner was established by the NatCom in 1995 and a bibliography published and updated.
Structure of the CommissionThe National Commission consists of the following bodies:
- The General Assembly, which meets at least once a year;
- The Executive Board, which meets three times a year;
- Four Standing Committees, which meet once a year and when required: (1) Education; (2) Science; (3) Culture; and (4) Communication;
- Working Groups, which are created on an ad hoc basis when required;
- The Secretariat.
Members/CompositionThe Membership of the Commission represents the Government, national institutions and NGOs involved in UNESCO's fields of competence, as well as the media, the ASP (Associated Schools Project) Coordinator, presidents of national IHP, IGCP and IOC Committees, permanent delegate to UNESCO and eminent personnalities chosen in their personal capacities.
Committees/Sub-Committees Details
Number of Committees or Sub-Committees4
Sub-committee Topics[X] Education
[X] Science
[X] Culture
[X] Communication
Interaction with UNESCO and National Commissions
OverviewThe Slovene Commission collaborates with its counterparts of the Europe Region and Africa - in particular Namibia -, as well as with the New Zealand Commission for UNESCO. It cooperates with the UNESCO Field Offices of Venice (ROSTE: Regional Office for Science and Technology in Europe) and Sarajevo, as well as with the UNESCO Institute for Education (UIE, Hamburg) and IBE.

The Slovene Commission carries out projects and cooperation with the countries of South-East Europe, in particular countries of former SFRY.