English Français

Latin America and the Caribbean

Trinidad and Tobago
Trinidad and Tobago National Commission for UNESCO
General Information
English NameTrinidad and Tobago National Commission for UNESCO

Ministry of Education
Level 5 Education Towers, Tower A
5 St. Vincent Street
Port of Spain
Trinidad and Tobago

Phone1 868 622 2181
Fax1 868 622 8909
E-mailunesco.info@moe.gov.tt; debra.lalloo@moe.gov.tt
National Commissions Web site on unesco.orgwww.unesco.org.tt
Correspondence LanguageENGLISH
Office Holders
NameMr Anthony Garcia
StartedOctober 2015

NameMs. Debra Lalloo
TitleSecretary General
Election Date22 July 2019
Mandated duration
StartedJuly 2019

Date and Method of Creation30 July 1970 by Cabinet Minute
Department attached tounder the supervision of the Ministry of Education
Documentation CentreThe Documentation Centre of the National Commission holds about 4 000 publications. The Centre is administered by a Document Officer and is currently undergoing an upgrade in order to be able to offer a computerized catalogue system.
Structure of the CommissionThe National Commission consists of the following bodies:
- The General Assembly
- The Executive Committee
- Six Sector Committees
- The Secretariat.
Members/CompositionComposed of 30 members
Executive CommitteeComposed of 9 members, including the Chairperson, the Deputy Chairperson, the Chairpersons of the five Sector Committees, the Secretary General and an NGO representative. The Executive Committee meets regularly once a month.
General AssemblyComposed of 30 voting members representing the relevant Ministries (Education; Community Development; Culture and Gender Affairs; Foreign Affairs; Information; Planning; Housing and the Environment; Public Utilities; Science, Technology and Tertiary Education; Social Development; Sport and Youth Affairs), NGOs, universities; governmental and national institutions; ASPnet and UNESCO clubs; and one non-voting member in the person of the Secretary General. Appointed for a four-year term. The General Assembly meets quarterly.
Committees or Sub-CommitteesSix Programme Committees: 1) Education; 2) Natural Sciences; 3) Social and Human Sciences; 4) Culture; 5) Communication and Information; 6) Culture of Peace
Committees/Sub-Committees Details
Number of Committees or Sub-Committees6
PeriodicityOnce a month / as often as necessary
Sub-committee Topics[X] Education
[X] Science
[X] Social Sciences
[X] Culture
[X] Communication
[X] Other
Interaction with UNESCO and National Commissions
OverviewThe National Commission collaborates with National Commissions of the Latin America and the Caribbean Region (Guyana, Haiti, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago) as well as with the Norwegian and the Swedish National Commissions. It also maintains good and regular working relations with the UNESCO Office in Jamaica.
Trinidad and Tobago National Commission for UNESCO Annual Report
TypeAnnual Report
DistributionDistributed to stakeholders within the Commission and the Ministry of Education and UNESCO Headquarters.
The Caribbean Sea, a Vital Resource - Report of Workshop Proceedings and Outpouts (1st UNESCO Associated Schools Caribbean Sea Project)
PeriodicityPunctual (July 1998)
Addressing Male Underperformance in the Education System
PeriodicityPunctual (November 1997)
Social Work Programme of the University of the West Indies in collaboration with the National Commission
PeriodicityPunctual (June 1998)