English Français


United Republic of Tanzania
UNESCO National Commission of the United Republic of Tanzania
General Information
English NameUNESCO National Commission of the United Republic of Tanzania
French NameCommission nationale de la Rép. unie de Tanzanie

UNESCO National Commission of the United Republic of Tanzania
P.O. Box 20384
United Republic of Tanzania

Phone(+255.22) 21 26 598 (Office);
(+255) 0712575295 (mobile);
Fax(255.22) 21 34 292;
(255.22) 21 12 533
E-mailmoshikimizi@yahoo.co.uk; erickesq@yahoo.com; joelsamuel@yahoo.com; musarochec@yahoo.com
National Commissions Web site on unesco.orghttp://www.natcom.go.tz
Correspondence LanguageENGLISH
Office Holders
NameProfessor Eliphas Bisanda
StartedJanuary 2016

NameDr Moshi Kimizi
TitleActing Secretary General
StartedDecember 2014

Date and Method of Creation1962, by a Cabinet Order Number 337
StatusGovernmental (1 Ministry)
Documentation CentreThe Documentation Centre, which is adminstered by a documentalist who was trained at the University of North London (United Kingdom), holds 6000 UNESCO and ministerial publications.
The Centre mainly welcomes students, academics, and the general public.
The Centre is not computerized.
Structure of the CommissionThe National Commission is composed of the following organs:
- The General Assembly (18 persons), which meets at least once a year;
- The Executive Committee (11 persons) which meets at least twice a year;
- 7 Sub-Committees responsible for: education, science, culture, social sciences, MOST, IOC and MAB. The Sub-Committees meet regurlarly.

The National Commission's office is computerized.
Members/CompositionThe Membership of the National Commission comprises 18 representatives from relevant Ministries, national institutions, NGOs, the media and parliamentarians.
Executive CommitteeThe Executive Committee is made up of 11 persons and meets at least three times a year.
General Assembly General Assembly is made up of 20 persons and meets once a year.
Committees or Sub-CommitteesThe Commission has sub-committees for education, science, culture, social science, MOST, IOC and MAB. The members represent ministries, national professional institutions, NGOs, the media and parliamentarians. These sub-committees are supposed to meet regularly.
Interaction with UNESCO and National Commissions
OverviewThe National Commission has cooperated with other African National Commissions such as Kenya, Uganda, Zimbabwe, Namibia, Seychelles, Madagascar, Comoro, Mauritius, South Africa, Malawi, Mozambique, Korea, New Zealand, Poland, Sweden, Germany and maintains good and regular relationships with the UNESCO Field Offices in Dar es Salaam, Dakar, Harare, Nairobi, Addis Ababa and Maputo.
UNESCO Courrier
PeriodicityFour times a year
DistributionNational and international institutions