English Français


Uganda National Commission for UNESCO
General Information
English NameUganda National Commission for UNESCO
French NameCommission nationale ougandaise pour l'UNESCO

Embassy House
King George VI Way

Mail AddressP.O. Box 4962
Phone(256) 414 25 97 13
Fax(256) 414 25 84 05

E-mailadmin@unesco-uganda.ug; ragoi@unesco-uganda.ug
National Commissions Web site on unesco.orghttp://www.unesco-uganda.ug
Correspondence LanguageENGLISH
Office Holders
NameMme Janet Kataaha MUSEVENI
StartedMay 2016
Government PostOther

NameMs Rosie Agoi
Election Date
Mandated durationOpen
StartedJanuary 2016
Type of AppointmentPermanent

NameOkello David
TitleSenior Information Scientist
StartedFebruary 2012
Type of AppointmentPermanent
Government PostOther

NameDan Kaweesi
TitleProgramme Officer /Culture
Election Date2 April 2007
Mandated duration
StartedApril 2007

NameDr Domimnic Mundrugo-Ogo-Lali
TitleProgram Officer/ Natural Sciences/ Social and Human
StartedOctober 2011

NameMr David Twebaze
TitleProgramme Officer/ Eductaion
Election Date5 August 2011
Mandated duration
StartedAugust 2011

Date and Method of CreationSeptember 1963
Department attached toMinistry of Education and Sports
Legislation DatesThe judicial text was accepted01/01/1992 and last revised
LegislationIn 1991, the National Commission was de facto established as part of the Department of the Ministry of Education. The National Commission was attributed a Constitution in 1992.
Documentation CentreThe Documentation Center mainly holds UNESCO publications, but can also provide the public with documents issued by local institutions or Non-Governmental Organizations specialized in UNESCO's fields of competence.
The Center serves teachers, students, researchers, administrators, Field Officers.
The Documentation Center is not computerized yet.
Structure of the CommissionThe National Commission consists of:
- The General Assembly;
- 12 Specialized Committees, which meet at least twice a year and whenever an activity interests their competence;
- The Secretariat.
Members/CompositionThe National Commission is composed of 16 Members representing different Government Ministries, Departments, and national Institutions working for UNESCO’s fields of competence.
Committees/Sub-Committees Details
Number of Committees or Sub-Committees6
Sub-committee Topics[X] Education
[X] Science
[X] Social Sciences
[X] Culture
[X] Communication
[X] Youth
Interaction with UNESCO and National Commissions
OverviewThe Uganda Commission cooperates with the UNESCO Dar es Salaam Office, Nairobi Office, Dakar Office, Harare Office depending on the activity it carries out. It punctually collaborates with a number of African National Commissions. The Australian, Canadian, French, German, Austria and Denmark National Commissions send regular information about their activities.

Note : the commission collaborated with Rotary Club of Port Bell Mampala in relation to water project untaken in Uganda.
FinancingUNESCO Secretariat
DistributionThe bulletin is distributed at the local and regional levels.