English Français


Zambia National Commission for UNESCO
Información General
Nombre en inglésZambia National Commission for UNESCO

P.O. Box 50619

Teléfono(260.211) 254 340
(260-1) 250558
(260-79) 524035
(260-955) 859522 (SG)
Fax(260.211) 254 340;
(260.211) 254 342;
(260.211) 254 138

Correo electróniconatcomzambia@gmail.com; ndakalac@yahoo.com (SG)
Lengua de correspondenciaENGLISH
NombreHon. Dr Dennis Wanchinga
ComenzóSeptiembre 2016
Puesto GubernamentalMinistro de Educación

NombreDr Charles Ndakala
par interim[X]
ComenzóMayo 2015

Fecha y Modalidad de CreaciónAugust 1966 by an Act of Parliament
Fechas de LegislaciónEl texto judicial fue aceptado26/08/1966 y revisado por última vez el
Legislación"The Charter 139 of the Laws of Zambia" of 1966 is the Commission's legal instrument.
Centro de documentaciónThe Documentation Centre, which has been re-opened by the end of 1999, holds UNESCO and other National and International Institutions' publications. It is administered by a documentalist and welcomes visitors who generally look for sponsorship and information on the National Commission.

The Commission feels that more needs to be done in the advertising of the documentation centre so that more people can utilise it.
Estructura de la ComisiónThe National Commission is structured as follow:
- The Executive Committee (22 members), which meets at least once a year;
- The Sub-Committees, which are formed according to UNESCO's fields of competence and meet when required;
- The Secretariat.
Miembros/ComposiciónThe National Commission comprises 22 members representing the Ministries involved in UNESCO's areas of competence; National Scientific and Environmental Institutions; the National Heritage and Conservation Commission; the University of Zambia and the NGOs Coordinating Committee.
Comité EjecutivoThe Commission has an Executive Committee consisting of 22 members. They meet at least once a year.
Comités o SubcomitésThe sub-committees of the Commission are formed according to UNESCO's fields of competence. They meet whenever there is a task to be performed and depending on how often individual programme officers would like to meet their members.

These sub-committees represent the Ministry of Education, the National Heritage and Conservation Commission, the University of Zambia, the National Council for Scientific Research, the Environmental Council of Zambia, the Ministry of Finance and Economic Development, the Ministry of Foreign Affai'rs, the Ministry of Sport, Youth and Child Development, the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting Services, the Ministry of Community Development and Social Servies, the NGOs Coordinating Committee,and the Ministry of Science Technology and Vocational Training.
Interacción con UNESCO y otras Comisiones Nacionales
DescripciónThe Zambia National Commission co-operates with the National Commissions of the Southern African Development Community (SADC).