English Français


Zimbabwe National Commission for UNESCO
General Information
English NameZimbabwe National Commission for UNESCO

Ministry of Higher and Tertiary Education
5th Floor Block F, New Government Complex
Cnr. Samora Machel Avenue / S. Muzenda Street
P. Bag CY 7732

Phone+263-4-732 726 (Chairperson)
+263-4-797447/702435 (SG)

+263 -0712-876 593 (SG mobile)
Fax(263 4) 702435/797447
E-mailzimnatcom@gmail.com (SG)
Correspondence LanguageENGLISH
Office Holders
NameProf. Amon Murwira
StartedDecember 2017
Government PostOther

NameDr Desire Sibanda
TitleVice Chairperson
StartedDecember 2017

NameMs M. J. Chirapa
TitleSecretary General
StartedAugust 2015

Date and Method of Creation3 March 1987 by Presidential Decree
StatusGovernmental (1 Ministry)
Department attached to Ministry of Higher and Tertiary Education
LegislationThe National Commission does not have any legal instrument such as a Constitution.
Documentation CentreThe National Commission has not set up any Documentation Centre.
Structure of the CommissionThe National Commission is composed of the following organs:
- The Executive Committee
- The General Assembly, which meets once a year/twice a year
- 5 Specialized Standing Committees
- The Secretariat.
Members/CompositionThe National Commission comprises 65 members representing Ministries, national institutions, NGOs and the media.
Executive CommitteeComposed of 6 members: the Permanent Secretaries of key line Ministries. The Executive Committee meets twice a year.
General AssemblyComposed of 65 members representing 14 ministries, universities, professional associations and NGOs (such as the Ministry of Science and Technology Development, The Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the Ministry of Education, Sport, Arts and Culture, the Vice-Chancellors from University of Zimbabwe, National University of Science and Technology and Midlands State University, one member from the Association for Promotion of Indigenous Languages, etc.). The General Assembly meets at least once a year.
Committees or Sub-CommitteesThe Commission has five Programme Committees: 1) Education; 2) Natural Sciences; 3) Social and Human Sciences; 4) Culture; 5) Communication
Committees/Sub-Committees Details
Number of Committees or Sub-Committees5
PeriodicityEach committee meets three times a year
Sub-committee Topics[X] Education
[X] Science
[X] Social Sciences
[X] Culture
[X] Communication
Interaction with UNESCO and National Commissions
OverviewThe National Commission coollaborates with a number of African National Commissions (Malawi, Namibia, South Africa, Zambia…) and cooperates with the UNESCO Field Offices of Dakar, Harare, Luanda, Nairobi and Windhoek in the organization of seminars and workshops.
Zimbabwe National Commission for UNESCO-Annual Report
TypeAnnual Report
FinancingFunds provided by the government.
DistributionGovernmental Departments, members of the General Assembly.
Zimbabwe and UNESCO Magazine
DistributionASPnet Schools, Parlamentarians, other National Commissions, UNESCO Headquarters , Field Officers