© UNESCO / Valentino Etowar

The Africa Department ensure liaison with Member States from the Africa region, notably the sub-Saharan countries. Most Member States have established Permanent Delegations to UNESCO which, headed by Ambassadors, undertake liaison between the Organisation and their governments. All African Member States have established a National Commission for UNESCO.

The UNESCO National Commissions are national cooperating bodies set up by the Member States for the purpose of associating their governmental and non-governmental bodies with the work of the Organisation.

Relations with Member States are also insured by the Directors and Heads of UNESCO regional bureaux, clusters  and national offices .

With the mission of contributing to peace and human development in an era of globalisation, UNESCO has established links with other partners which are actively involved in UNESCO's action in Africa.

Back to top