Cluster Offices

A cluster office covers a group of countries and is the central component in the field, around which are organized national offices and regional bureaux.

The 10 cluster offices, covering 47 African Member States, represent the main supporting structure of UNESCO Secretariat’s network in the field.

A cluster office must ensure interaction:

  • between the Member States of its cluster in the Organization’s fields of competence
  • with other United Nations agencies in the context of joint programming frameworks
  • between each Member State within its remit and the other components of the Secretariat network, in particular by fostering links of solidarity with the National Commission
  • between each Member State within its remit and the international community
  • with the other Secretariat units
  • between the sectors and disciplines.

UNESCO Office in Accra - Cluster Office for Benin, Côte d'Ivoire, Ghana, Liberia, Nigeria, Sierra Leone and Togo.

UNESCO Office in Addis Ababa - Cluster Office for Djibouti and Ethiopia.

UNESCO Office in Bamako - Cluster Office for Burkina Faso, Guinea, Mali and Niger.

UNESCO Office in Dakar - Regional Bureau for Education in Africa and Cluster Office for Cape Verde, Gambia, Guinea-Bissau, and Senegal.

UNESCO Office in Dar es-Salaam - Cluster Office for Comoros, Madagascar, Mauritius, Seychelles and United Republic of Tanzania.

UNESCO Office in Harare - Cluster Office for Botswana, Malawi, Mozambique, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.

UNESCO Office in Libreville - Cluster Office for Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Sao Tome and Principe.

UNESCO Office in Nairobi - Regional Bureau for Sciences in Africa and Cluster Office for Burundi, Eritrea, Kenya, Rwanda, Somalia and Uganda.

UNESCO Office in Windhoek - Cluster Office to Angola, Lesotho, Namibia, South Africa and Swaziland.

UNESCO Office in Yaoundé - Cluster Office to Cameroon, Central African Republic and Chad.


Back to top