Cluster Offices

A cluster office covers a group of countries and is the central component in the field, around which are organized national offices and regional bureaux.

The 17 cluster offices, covering 113 Member States, represent the main supporting structure of UNESCO Secretariat’s network in the field.

A cluster office must ensure interaction:

  • between the Member States of its cluster in the Organization’s fields of competence
  • with other United Nations agencies in the context of joint programming frameworks
  • between each Member State within its remit and the other components of the Secretariat network, in particular by fostering links of solidarity with the National Commission
  • between each Member State within its remit and the international community
  • with the other Secretariat units
  • between the sectors and disciplines.


Arab States

UNESCO Office in Beirut - Regional Bureau for Education in the Arab States and Cluster Office to Lebanon, Syria, Jordan, Iraq and the Autonomous Palestinian Territories.

UNESCO Office in Cairo - Regional Bureau for Sciences in the Arab States and Cluster Office for Egypt, Libya and Sudan.

UNESCO Office in Doha - Cluster Office to Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates and Yemen.

UNESCO Office in Rabat - Cluster Office to Algeria, Mauritania, Morocco and Tunisia.

Asia and Pacific

UNESCO Office in Almaty - Cluster Office to Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan.

UNESCO Office in Apia - Cluster Office to Australia, Cook Islands, Fiji, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Micronesia (Federated States of), Nauru, New Zealand, Niue, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu and Tokelau (Associate Member).

UNESCO Office in Bangkok - Regional Bureau for Education in Asia and the Pacific and Cluster Office to Thailand, Myanmar, Lao PDR, Singapore, Viet Nam and Cambodia.

UNESCO Office in Beijing - Cluster Office to the Democratic People's Republic of Korea (DPRK), Japan, Mongolia, the People's Republic of China and the Republic of Korea (ROK).

UNESCO Office in Jakarta - Regional Bureau for Sciences in Asia and the Pacific and Cluster Office to Brunei Darussalam, Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, and Timor Leste.

UNESCO Office in New Delhi - Cluster Office to Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal and Sri Lanka.

UNESCO Office in Tehran - UNESCO Tehran Cluster Office to Afghanistan, the Islamic Republic of Iran, Pakistan and Turkmenistan.

Europe and North America

UNESCO Office in Moscow - Cluster Office to Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Republic of Moldova and the Russian Federation.

Latin America and the Caribbean

UNESCO Office in Havana - Regional Bureau for Culture in Latin America and the Caribbean and Cluster Office to Cuba, Dominican Republic, Haiti and Aruba.

UNESCO Office in Kingston - Cluster Office to Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Jamaica, Saints Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname and Trinidad and Tobago as well as the associate member states of British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Curaçao, and Sint Maarten.

UNESCO Office in Montevideo - Regional Bureau for Sciences in Latin America and the Caribbean and Cluster Office to Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Paraguay and Uruguay.

UNESCO Office in Quito - Cluster Office to Bolivia, Colombia, Ecuador and Venezuela.

UNESCO Office in San José - Cluster Office to Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua and Panama.

Back to top