19.09.2012 - UNESCO Office in Brasilia

MERCOSUR Award for Science and Technology 2012 indicates finalists

The Science and Technology Specialized Meeting (RECyT) of MERCOSUR announced today (18 September) the finalists of the MERCOSUR Science and Technology Award 2012.

After two days of meeting, the evaluation committee members, listed below, selected the best works on "Technological innovation in health."
•    Mr. Ary Mergulhão Filho, Representative of UNESCO/Brazil and President of the Committee
•    Mr. Carlos Alberto Fossati, Representative of RECyT/Argentina
•    Mr. Edson Zangrando Figueira, Representative of RECyT/Brazil
•    Mr. Dácio Eduardo Leandro Campos, Representative of RECyT/Brazil
•    Mr. Kleber Franchini, Representative of RECyT/Brazil
•    Mr. Eduardo Osinaga, Representative of RECyT/Uruguay

The pre-selected authors are students and researchers from Argentina, Brazil, Bolivia and Peru. The full list of pre-selected authors is at the Award’s website. They will be invited to submit specific documentation. In case they all present the documents as established in the Award’s rules and regulation, they will be declared as winners.

The Award is open to students and researchers from Brazil and all the MERCOSUR countries: Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay and Venezuela, besides Brazil. Divided into four categories listed below, the award covers from the high school to doctorate.
• Scientific Initiation – high school students up to 21 years, with or without guidance from a teacher – Prize: U$ 2,000;
• College Student – college students (no age limit), with or without guidance from a teacher – Prize: U$ $ 3.500;
• Young Researcher – graduated scholars up to 35 years – Prize: U$ 5,000;
• Integration – teams of graduated researchers from at least two of the countries listed (no age limit) – Prize: U$ $ 10,000.

Created by RECyT/MERCOSUR, the Award is sponsored by the Ministry of Science, Technology and Innovation in Brazil (MCTI/Brazil) and supported by the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO); the National Council for Scientific and Technological Development (CNPq/Brazil); the Brazilian Competitive Movement (MBC); the Center for Strategic Studies and Management Science, Technology and Innovation (CGEE/Brazil); the Ministry of Science, Technology and Productive Innovation in Argentina; the National Council of Science and Technology in Paraguay; the Ministry of Education and Culture in Uruguay; and the National Observatory of Science, Technology and Innovation in Venezuela.

The award ceremony will be held in Brazil in 2012, with date and location to be determined.

<- Back to: Dynamic Content Single View
Back to top