08.05.2015 - UNESCO Office in Brasilia

Mercosur Science and Technology Awards announces winners

The Mercosur Science and Technology Awards jury decided the 2014 prize winners on 30 April, 2015. The awards were established by the Science and Technology Specialized Meeting of Mercosur (RECyT) and are coordinated in Brazil by the Ministry of Science, Technology and Innovation (MCTI). The award ceremony will take place at the National Council for Scientific and Technological Development (CNPq / MCTI) on 17 June, 2015. The theme of the 2015 award edition was "Popularization of Science".

60 of the109 registered research papers were pre-selected. Out of the four award categories (College Student, Scientific Initiation, Integration, and Young Researcher) three were won by Brazilians. The submitted research papers were also selected to receive honourable mentions. The total prize amount will be worth US $ 20,500 distributed among the winners, as well as trophies and plaques.

The selection of the submissions took place at CNPq's headquarters in Brasilia bringing together representatives from Brazil, Argentina, Paraguay, Uruguay, and Mercosur member countries and associates. Ary Mergulhão, coordinator of the Natural Sciences Sector at UNESCO in Brazil, chaired the judging panel.

"The awards encourage integration in Science and Technology among the Mercosur member countries and associates; and it is not only for researchers but also for young scientists and secondary students who are beginning to take an interest in research and could have a career in Science. The awards encourage the development of issues that are important to the integration of Mercosur countries," Mergulhão said.


In the College Student category, the winner was Renato Tadeu Rodrigues, a student at the Federal University of São Carlos (UFSCar, Brazil), with an honourable mention going to Ricardo Florencio Alves Rocha, a student at the Catholic University of Minas Gerais (PUC Minas).

In the Scientific Initiation category, the winner was Gustavo das Neves Ubeda, a student at the Professor Idene Rodrigues dos Santos State School, in the municipality of Junqueirópolis, São Paulo (Brazil), with an honourable mention going to Laura Pelisser Teston, a student at the Professora Adelaide Picolotto State High School in Ibiaçá, Rio Grande do Sul.

In the Integration category, the winner was Luisa Medeiros Massarin, linked to the Oswaldo Cruz Foundation (Fiocruz, Brazil) with her team members: Marina Ramalho e Silva (Brazil), Daniel Hermelin Bravo (Colombia), Ana Vara (Argentina), María del Carmen Cevallos (Ecuador), Acianela Montes de Oca (Venezuela), Juri Castelfranchi (Italy – working and living in Brazil), Vanessa Brasil de Carvalho (Brazil), and the creator of National Science and Technology Week (SNCT) and former Secretary for Science and Technology for Social Inclusion at MCTI, Ildeu de Castro Moreira (Brazil). The honourable mention in this category was awarded to Marcelo Knobel (Argentina), linked to the State University of Campinas (Unicamp).

Finally, in the Young Researcher category, the winner was Adan David Morel Fernández, linked to the American University of Paraguay (UA), with an honourable mention for José Antonio Maruyama of the Federal University of São Carlos (UFSCar, Brazil).

About the Awards

Initially called The Mercosur Awards for Young Researchers, the awards were created by the Science and Technology Specialized Meeting of Mercosur (RECyT) in 1998, with the objective of rewarding works that exhibit potential contributions to the scientific and technological development of member countries and associates of Mercosur as well as encouraging scientific research, technology and innovation within this country group contributing to the process of regional integration.

The awards are organized by MCTI and CNPq / MCTI in partnership with UNESCO and the Competitive Brazil Movement (Movimento Brasil Competitivo).

<- Back to: Dynamic Content Single View
Back to top