UNESCO / Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize 2015

Guillermo Cano Isaza - © Marisol Cano Busquets

Named in honour of Guillermo Cano Isaza, an assassinated Colombian journalist, the Prize is intended to honour a person, organization or institution that has made an outstanding contribution to the defence and/or promotion of press freedom anywhere in the world, especially when this has been achieved in the face of danger.

It is intended to reward journalists who have shown dedication in the name of freedom of expression and information, and to afford them the international recognition they deserve. Candidates can be submitted by Member States and organizations working in the field of journalism and freedom of expression.

Awarded annually, on the occasion of World Press Freedom Day (3 May), the Prize is marked by a ceremony and the winner is presented with the sum of US$25,000.

The Prize is funded by the Cano Foundation (Colombia) and the Helsingin Sanomat Foundation (Finland).

How to submit your nomination

Only Member States, regional and international organizations, and professional and non-governmental organizations working in the field of journalism and freedom of expression can nominate candidates.

Nominations for the Prize should be submitted by filling out the form in English or French and sending it before 15 February 2015 by post or by email to:



Communication and Information Sector
Division of Freedom of Expression and Media Development
Section for Freedom of Expression
7 Place de Fontenoy
75007 Paris
E-mail: s.coudray(at)unesco.org


The UNESCO/Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize is supported by:


The prize is awarded on the recommendation of an independent jury of 12 news professionals.

>> See members of the 2015 Prize Jury
>> See members of the 2014 Prize Jury

Previous laureates

The laureats of the World Press Freedom Prize since its creation in 1997

>> More information on laureats










Back to top