UNESCO / Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize 2014

Guillermo Cano Isaza - © Marisol Cano Busquets

Named in honour of Guillermo Cano Isaza, an assassinated Colombian journalist, the Prize is intended to honour a person, organization or institution that has made an outstanding contribution to the defence and/or promotion of press freedom anywhere in the world, especially when this has been achieved in the face of danger.

It is intended to reward journalists who have shown dedication in the name of freedom of expression and information, and to afford them the international recognition they deserve. Candidates can be submitted by Member States and organizations working in the field of journalism and freedom of expression.

The Prize is awarded annually and marked by a ceremony and the winner is presented with the sum of US$25,000. This year’s prize will be awarded on the occasion of World Press Freedom Day, on 2 May 2014.


The UNESCO/Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize is supported by:


The prize is awarded on the recommendation of an independent jury of 12 news professionals.

>> See members of the 2014 Prize Jury
>> See members of the 2013 Prize Jury

Previous laureates

The laureats of the World Press Freedom Prize since its creation in 1997

>> More information on laureats


Back to top