The GAPMIL Awards will recognize information/library, media and technology specialists, educators, artists, activists, researchers, policy makers, NGOs, associations and other groups integrating MIL (media and information literacy) in an innovative way in their work and related activities. Specifically, the awards will recognize excellence and leadership in five sectors: Education, Research, Policy, Advocacy, Media and communication/information industries.

The GAPMIL Awards are presented every year at the Global MIL Week feature conference.

GAPMIL Awards 2017

For 2017, the GAPMIL Awards are led by the GAPMIL and the Media and Information Literacy and Intercultural Dialogue (MILID) University Network with the support of UNESCO, UNAOC and the University of the West Indies, Mona.

Winners of previous editions


  • First prize: Ms. Divina Frau-Meigs and Ms. Bérangère Blondeau, University of Sorbonne Nouvelle (France)
  • Second prize: Mr. Thomas Röhlinger, Founder and Editor in Chief of Radijojo World Children's Media Network (Germany)
  • Third prize: Child and Youth Media Institute (Thailand)


In 2015, the GAPMIL Awards were presented jointly to the following recipients.

  • Media Digital Literacy Academy of the American University of Beirut (Lebanon)
  • Ms Tessa Jolls, President of Center for Media Literacy (United States)



Back to top