The Global Open Access Portal (GOAP) has been developed with generous support of the:

  • United States Department of State
  • Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Kingdom of Denmark
  • COLCIENCIAS – Observatorio Colombiano de Ciencia y Tecnología
  • Royal Norwegian Ministry of Education and Research

The following institutions and individuals have contributed in collection of information for the GOAP, and we sincerely acknowledge their support:

Electronic Information for Lbraries (EIFL), International Network for the Availability of Scientific Publications (INASP), Consejo Latinoamericano de Ciencias Sociales (CLACSO), Dr. Devika P. Madalli, India, Ms. Mandy Abd elGhaffar Taha, Egypt, Iryna Kuchma, Ukraine, Martin Belcher, Sweden, Dominique Babini, Argentina, Taghrid Atieh, IAEA, Denise Nicholson, South Africa, Netsanet Animut, Ethiopia, Charles Banda, Zambia, Valère Djidéré, Cameroon, Ezra Shiloba Gbaje, Nigeria, Norbert Komlan Glakpe, Togo, Aissa Mitha Issak, Mozambique, Gloria Kadyamatimba, Zimbabwe, Dr. Arun Kumar, Mauritius, Richard B. Lamptey, Ghana, Fredrick Kiwuwa Lugya, Uganda, Matseliso (Tseli) Moshoeshoe-Chadzingwa, Lesotho, Paul Muneja, Tanzania, Rebecca Nelson, EIFL, Reason Baathuli Nfila, Botswana, Rosemary Otando, Kenya, Birama Seyba Traore, Mali, Minata Traore, Burkina Faso, Kondwani Wella, Malawi, Paul Schultze-Motel, Germany, Antonin Benoît Diouf, United Nations-IDEP, Senegal, Isabel Bernal Martínez, Spain.


While all efforts have been made to present an accurate account of the status of Open Access in the countries covered, the information provided and the analyses thereof are those of the contributors, and does not imply the expression of any opinion on the part of UNESCO concerning the legal status of any country, territory, city or area or of its authorities, or concerning the delimitation of its frontiers or boundaries. The contributors are responsible for the choice and representation of the facts contained in this portal and for the opinions expressed therein, which are not necessarily those of UNESCO and do not commit the Organization.

Comments, and updates may kindly be sent to: Sanjaya Mishra, Programme Specialist (ICT in Education, Science and Culture).

Back to top