14.10.2010 -

UNESCO co-sponsors 2010 MISA Namibia Media Awards

The Namibian Chapter of the Media Institute of Southern Africa (MISA) held its 6th Annual Media Awards on 6 October 2010 in Windhoek. The main objective of the Awards is the recognition of outstanding achievements of Namibian journalists. By sponsoring the category "Best Community Reporter", UNESCO wanted to highlight the importance of ethical and professional standards of journalists.

The winners were selected out of 79 entries, received from 25 journalists from various media houses in Namibia. The criteria for awarding the best journalists included accuracy and balance, creativity and fairness, significance and effectiveness, enterprise and ingenuity, quality of writing and mastering of style, quality of research and sources used, adherence to journalistic standards and ethics.

In the category sponsored by UNESCO the winners are:


  • Des Erasmus from Die Republikein for "Erongo" (1st place);

  • Selma Shipanga from The Namibian for "State of places of safety for OVC's" (2nd place); and

  • Emsie Erastus from The Namibian Sun for "Fatal stabbing of woman blamed on police inaction" (3rd place).

The United Nations Population Fund (UNFPA) supported the category of the Awards on "Health and HIV/AIDS". The main sponsors of the event, both UNESCO and UNFPA recognise the essential role that journalists play in freedom of expression, independence of media from political and commercial interests, and pluralism of views in a country. UNESCO's contribution to the event particularly highlights the importance of professional journalistic standards and ethics for a society.

MISA Namibia Media Awards started in 2003 as a rigorous contest to help set standards and recognise role models for outstanding journalism. The main objectives of the Awards are encouraging journalistic achievements that contribute to the advancement of the profession; raising professional standards of journalism in informing, educating, entertaining and protecting the rights of citizens; and promoting a critical, independent and investigative media as the lifeblood of democracy.

<- Back to: News articles
Back to top