12.11.2012 - UNESCO

UNESCO is seeking nominations for UNESCO/Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize 2013

UNESCO invites Member States, as well as regional and international organizations and professional and non-governmental organizations working in the field of journalism and freedom of expression, to nominate candidates for next year’s UNESCO/Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize.

Named in honour of Guillermo Cano Isaza, an assassinated Colombian journalist, the Prize is intended to honour a person, organization or institution that has made an outstanding contribution to the defence and/or promotion of press freedom anywhere in the world, especially when this has been achieved in the face of danger.

It is intended to reward journalists who have shown dedication in the name of freedom of expression and information, and to afford them the international recognition they deserve. Awarded annually, the Prize is marked by a ceremony and the winner is presented with the sum of US$25,000.
Next year’s prize will be awarded on the occasion of World Press Freedom Day, on 3 May 2013. 

How to submit your nomination

Nominations for the Prize should be submitted by filling out the form in English or French and sending it before 15 February 2013 by post or by email to:

Division of Freedom of Expression and Media Development
1, rue Miollis
75732 Paris cedex 15
E-mail: s.coudray(at)unesco.org

<- Back to: News articles
Back to top