You, Me and HIV/AIDS

Mobilization of young television producers

The UNESCO initiated project “Global Network of Young Producers on HIV and AIDS” is mobilizing broadcasters worldwide to set high quality standards for TV productions featuring HIV and AIDS programmes. Young TV producers from South Asia and throughout Africa have been involved in a series of workshops since 2003 when the project kick-started in South Asia.

The preliminary workshop resulted in a collection of 10 mini-documentaries that have been distributed and exchanged with broadcasters in that region and elsewhere. The project has since organized a series of workshops in Anglophone and Francophone Africa culminating in the production of 13 short documentaries and 12 short documentary scripts to be released before the end of 2005.

Participating broadcasters are requested to provide a letter of consent authorizing UNESCO free distribution rights of the resulting scripts and TV short documentaries. All broadcasters are encouraged to broadcast all of the available productions on their TV channels. Participants are requested to provide a passport size color photograph to be included in any resulting catalogues or publications depicting their work.

The workshops aim to improve participants’ production and post-production skills at the same time enhancing their awareness about HIV and AIDS. Much of the emphasis is on producing credible and reliable information coupled with sensitivity in language use. Direct exposure to the basic realities of HIV and AIDS has humbled many of the young participants who admit that the problem is often individually conceived as payback for inappropriate behavior. The workshops have overcome this preliminary obstacle and participants are exploring new angles and approaches to their work.

The project will continue its implementation next biennium in collaboration with Cluster Offices and wide ranging partners including AIBD, CIRTEF, SABA, NAFTI and others.

Participating countries (2003-2005):

Bangladesh, Bhutan, Botswana, Cambodia, China, Gambia, Ghana, India; Indonesia, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Maldives, Namibia, Nepal, Nigeria, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Swaziland, Thailand, Vietnam, Uganda.

Back to top