First ordinary session of the Conference of Parties

(Paris, 18 - 20 June 2007)

Highlights of the session:

  • Adoption of the rules of procedure for the Conference of Parties
  • Election of the members of the Intergovernmental Committee
  • First discussions on the functionning of the Committee

More information on the session

Show all / Hide all

fold faq

Speeches at the Opening Ceremony

  • Mr Koïchiro Matsuura,
    Director-General of UNESCO
    English | FrenchSpanish | Russian | Chinese | Arabic
  • Professor Kader Asmal,
    Chairperson of the Intergovernmental meeting of Experts in charge of elaborating the draft of the Convention
  • Mr. Javier Pérez de Cuéllar,
    Former Secretary General of the United Nations and President of the World Commission on Culture and Development
  • H.E. Mr. Musa Bin Jaafer Bin Hassan,
    President of the General Conference of UNESCO
    English | Arabic
fold faq

Chairperson, Vice-Chairs and Rapporteur

  • Chairperson: Professor Kader Asmal - South Africa
  • Vice-Chairs: Chile, India, Spain and Tunisia
  • Rapporteur: Nina Obuljen - Croatia
fold faq

Oral Report and Elections

fold faq

Summary record, Resolutions and Participants

fold faq

Working Documents as distributed before the meeting

  • Election of the Intergovernmental Committee
    English | French
  • Selection by lot of twelve States Members of the Intergovernmental Committee whose term of office will be limited to two years
    English | French | Spanish | Russian | Chinese | Arabic
fold faq

Information Documents

Back to top