Country tests of the Culture for Development Indicators

In order to ensure that the Indicators respond to national needs and contexts, two test phases will be carried out in 11 countries.

Each test phase range from three to five months per country. A collaborative learning process, each test phase involves relevant partners at the national level: public authorities, research centres, national statistical offices, civil society, and development actors. This participative approach is designed to ensure that the Suite is able to stimulate collaboration and policy dialogue amongst different actors interested in promoting culture for development.

Through a dedicated website and online discussion group, the country teams exchange and share information on different topics, helping to create synergies between the tests phases.

During the test phase, country teams will be focusing on:

  • Testing the methodology;
  • Collecting, analyzing and interpreting data;
  • Elaborating reading grids, which facilitate the contextualization and the cross-analysis of results;
  • Exploring options to better link the indicators to the MDGs;
  • Organizing of national workshops to introduce the project and validate the results with key national stakeholders.

The first test phase of the UNESCO CDIS took place in Bosnia and Herzegovina, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ghana, Uruguay and Vietnam. The second test phase is currently under way in Ecuador, Namibia, Cambodia, Egypt,  Burkina Faso and Swaziland.

In parallel, results from the 6 first test phase countries are being aligned with the revised methodology to foster comparability between up to 12 countries.

Country tests: Second phase (2012 - 2013)

Technical workshop

Presentation of the results

Country tests: First phase (2011-2013)

Technical workshop

Presentation of the results

Back to top