Project to support the "Bachelor - Master - Doctorate" reform by building capacities of universities through IT platforms

UNESCO's Regional Office in Dakar is coordinating a project to support the implementation of a reform of the Bachelor, Master and Doctorate levels (the LMD reform in French) in the eight member states of the West African Economic and Monetary Union (UEMOA).

Member states of UEMOA are: Benin, Burkina Faso, Cote d'Ivoire, Guinea-Bissau, Mali, Niger, Senegal, and Togo.

The joint establishment of LMD reform by UEMOA member states aims to create an integrated and harmonized space for higher education in West Africa. Plus, this reform meets one of the higher Education need in terms of internationalization. The PADTICE project from UEMOA/UNESCO supports the reform through the development and use of ICTs in the universities.

About the LMD reform

The LMD reform ('Licence-Master-Doctorate') consists of a set of measures to change the higher education system to meet international standards.

The key components are to establish a system made up of three levels 'bachelor-master-doctorate', an organization of teaching in semesters and teaching units, and the implementation of credit and the delivery of an appendix describing the degree.

About the project

The $5.8 million project is funded by UEMOA and was launched in February 2011 for a 3-year period. It is coordinated by the Regional Office of UNESCO in Dakar. The regional governance of PADTICE-UEMOA/UNESCO is directed by a steering regional group including representatives of UEMOA, UNESCO, universities and partners. 

To achieve this, the project focuses on three components:

  • Setting up physical and virtual ICT infrastructure
  • Ensuring the acquisition of equipment and hardware
  • Building capacities in the areas of ICT, university teaching, accreditation and quality assurance and research.

Concerning the first point, the project aims to accompany the LMD reform by setting up eight IT systems and platforms to facilitate management and knowledge sharing within and between universities in the eight countries. It includes plans for establishing the following:

  1. A digital library,
  2. A virtual institute for distance learning and e-learning,
  3. A system to management attendance of students,
  4.  A university portal to be used by individual universities,
  5. A publishing platform,
  6. A platform for the scanning of documents,
  7. A platform for managing copyright issues
  8. A platform for print-on-demand

Project activities focus on 35 universities organized around 8 major universities in UEMOA. They are:

  • Université d’Abomey-Calavi, Bénin;
  • Université de Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso;
  • Université Félix Houphouët Boigny, Côte d’Ivoire;
  • Université Amilcar Cabral, Guinée-Bissau;
  • Université de Bamako, Mali (recently divided into four universities)
  • Université Abdou Moumouni, Niger
  • Université Cheikh Anta Diop de Dakar (UCAD), Sénégal
  • Université de Lomé, Togo.

The establishment is supported by a broad partnership

Key partners in higher education in African are joining hands with UNESCO to ensure an integrated approach that takes into account the needs of beneficiaries and projects and activities already in place in the universities.

They include: 

Agence Universitaire de la Francophonie,

  • the African Virtual University,
  • the International Telecommunication Union,
  • the West and Central African Research and Education Network,
  • the Network for Excellence in Higher Education in West Africa,
  • the International Engineering Water and Environment Institute,
  • the Multinational Higher School for telecommunications, and
  • the African and Madagascan Council for Higher Education.
Back to top