UNESCO Doha's Vision

The UNESCO Office in Doha covers all six independent Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) countries – namely the Kingdom of Bahrain, State of Kuwait, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, Sultanate of Oman, State of Qatar, and the United Arab Emirates, as well as the Republic of Yemen. The Office was established in 1976 and is hosted by the State of Qatar. In line with UNESCO’s global priorities and five major programmes, the UNESCO Office in Doha sets a local programme of action in consultation with the seven before-mentioned Member States.

The vision of the UNESCO Office in Doha is to empower women and men to contribute to peaceful and inclusive knowledge-based societies, through education, the sciences, culture, and communication and information, in partnership with Member States, the private sector, and civil society, to fulfill the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).”


Back to top