About us

UNESCO’s global priorities in its five major program areas for 2013-2014 are as follows:



  • Scaling up equity, inclusion and quality in education and lifelong learning for sustainable development and a culture of peace and non-violence
  • Strengthening global leadership in education

Natural Sciences

  • Strengthening science, technology, and innovation (STI) systems and policies for sustainable development, poverty eradication, and a culture of peace and non-violence
  • Mobilizing science for the sustainable use of natural resources, renewable energy and energy efficiency, and for natural disaster reduction and mitigation

Social and Human Sciences

  • Promoting the ethics of science and technology
  • Supporting Member States in their responses to social transformations, notably to promote democracy and sustainable development for the consolidation of a culture of peace and non-violence


  • Protecting and promoting heritage and cultural expressions
  • Advocating for the inclusion of culture and intercultural dialogue in development policies to foster a culture of peace and non-violence

Communication and Information 

  • Promoting freedom of expression and information
  • Fostering information and communication capacities for universal access to knowledge to bridge the digital divide



Back to top