28.07.2010 -

Announcing the six laureates of the 2010 UNESCO Literacy Prizes

©Malawi. COWFA, 2010

Projects in Cape Verde, Egypt, Germany and Nepal have been awarded this year’s UNESCO International Literacy Prizes, while projects in Colombia and Malawi have received Honourable Mentions.

UNESCO’s Director-General, Irina Bokova announced the six prizewinners following the proposals of an international Jury, which met from 5 -9 July.  

The two awards of the UNESCO King Sejong Literacy Prize, supported by the Republic of Korea, go to the projects in Cape Verde and Germany while the UNESCO Confucius Prize for Literacy, supported by the People's Republic of China, go to Nepal and Egypt. The Honourable Mention of the UNESCO Confucius Prize for Literacy goes to Malawi and the Honourable Mention of the UNESCO King Sejong Literacy Prize goes to Colombia.

Every year, the UNESCO International Literacy Prizes reward excellence and innovation in the field of literacy throughout the world. The 2010 theme is "literacy and women's empowerment", in line with the United Nations Literacy Decade (UNLD) thematic calendar.

An award ceremony will be held at UNESCO in Paris on 8 September, International Literacy Day.

Related Links:

Press release

UNESCO International Literacy Prize Winners 2010

UNESCO’s work on Literacy   

The United Nations Literacy Decade (2003 - 2012), coordinated by UNESCO

<- Back to: Education
Back to top